Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy Graduate Student Orientation: Purchase Suggestions & ILL

Finding Books in Other Libraries?

There are thousands of library catalogs out there and only one of you.

It's time for every researcher's secret weapon:

WorldCat

WorldCat contains more than 125 million records describing items owned by U.S. libraries and libraries around the world.  

These items include books, manuscripts, musical scores, films, newspapers, etc.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

Vanderbilt's Extraordinary Auxiliary Library

Center for Research Libraries

For 50+ years CRL has acquired and preserved newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources, and made them available to member libraries like Vanderbilt.

Researchers at Vanderbilt can benefit from:

  • Unlimited access to CRL's corpus of 5 million items
  • Project-length loan privileges
  • Third-day delivery on the vast majority of interlibrary loans
  • Demand Purchase Program
    • Enables patrons to request purchases up to $2000 annually in three areas
      • foreign dissertations
      • newspapers
      • archival materials

 

When the Library Doesn't Have What I Need...

With 9 campus libraries we have a huge number of books and journals, but sometimes it's not enough...

What are my options?

Request the Item Via Interlibrary Loan (ILL):

What is ILL?

  • ILL gives you access to loans or copies of materials that the Library does not own

  • Items can be requested from across town, across the country, or around the world

  • Most items arrive in 10 days

  • There is no charge to you for this service

How do I submit a request?

  • Log in to your secure, personal ILL account and choose a request form

  • Or, click on , available in many databases,  to request items as you search.  For more information about this magical button click here.

Submit a Purchase Suggestion:

The library is always happy to purchase books and other items upon request to fulfill research needs.  Submitting a suggestion is as easy as filling out this form!

**Large ticket items will be purchased at the discretion of the subject bibliographer and may require consultation with the department.

Collections Available from Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

The diverse and highly developed collections available from CRL include:

  • The largest collection of circulating newspapers in North America
  • More than 38,000 foreign journals that are rarely held in U. S. libraries
  • More than 800,000 foreign dissertations
  • Major microform and paper collections from Africa, Latin America, Middle East, Europe, Asia, and more

Search their catalog today!

Center for Research Libraries