Specialized Archives
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowThe world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. All individual network evening news broadcasts since 1968 and special news-related programming since 1989.
- BAMPFA (UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive)Home to the largest collection of Japanese cinema outside of Japan.
- Black Film Center/ArchiveA repository of films and related materials by and about African Americans.
- National Center for Jewish FilmHome to the largest, most comprehensive collection of Jewish-themed film and video in the world.
National Film Archives
- British Film Institute (BFI)Publisher of Sight & Sound, the BFI promotes understanding
and appreciation of Britain's rich film and television heritage and culture. - American Film Insitute (AFI)AFI trains the next generation of filmmakers at its world-renowned Conservatory, maintains America's film heritage through the AFI Catalog of Feature Films and explores new digital technologies in entertainment and education through the AFI Digital Conten
- The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF)A collaborative association of the world's leading film archives whose purpose has always been to ensure the proper preservation and showing of motion pictures.
- National Film Preservation BoardThis Library of Congress site includes the National Film Registry, documents related to film preservation research, and the directory "Public Motion Picture Research Centers and Film Archives."
Professional Film Organizations
- The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & SciencesThe home of the Oscar, this site includes a valuable Academy Awards Database and the Index to Motion Picture Credits.
- Society for Cinema & Media Studies (SCMS)A professional organization of college and university educators, filmmakers, historians, critics, scholars, and others devoted to the study of the moving image
- International Documentary AssociationPromotes nonfiction film and video, supports the efforts of documentary film and video makers around the world and increases public appreciation for the documentary form.
- Independent Feature ProjectOutstanding resource for independent filmmakers. Includes Feature articles from the IFP monthly magazine, an "Ask the Experts" forum, and job listings.
Shooting the Chutes: An Up-Close Look at Archival Film
From the the America at Work, America at Leisure Collection, a lively scene on the famous water chutes at Coney Island. This footage was shot by Thomas A. Edison. Film footage starts automatically as page loads.
Government Information/Film Studies Librarian
Other Film Archives
- UCLA Film and Television ArchiveOne of the largest collections of media materials in the United States.
- America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915A collection of 150 digitized motion pictures from the Library of Congress.
- Library of Congress Listing of Media Research Centers and Film ArchivesComprehensive. National and international in scope.
