Reference Books
Here are just a few reference sources you may find helpful (many online).
The Cambridge Companion to Queer Studies by
This Companion provides a guide to queer inquiry in literary and cultural studies. The essays represent new and emerging areas, including transgender studies, indigenous studies, disability studies, queer of color critique, performance studies, and studies of digital culture. Rather than being organized around a set of literary texts defined by a particular theme, literary movement, or demographic, this volume foregrounds a queer critical approach that moves across a wide array of literary traditions, genres, historical periods, national contexts, and media. This book traces the intellectual and political emergence of queer studies, addresses relevant critical debates in the field, provides an overview of queer approaches to genres, and explains how queer approaches have transformed understandings of key concepts in multiple fields.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1108699391Publication Date: 2020-06-02
LGBTQ Life in America by
This indispensable book debunks common myths and misconceptions about the LGBTQ community while providing accurate information about LGBTQ people, their successes and shared history, and the current challenges they face in American society. This book provides readers with a clear and unbiased understanding of what it means to be LGBTQ in the United States in the 2020s. Beginning with the origins of LGBTQ identity and history, the book addresses the current status of the LGBTQ community; gender expectations and performance in American culture; transgender and non-binary identity; behaviors and outcomes associated with LGBTQ people; and, finally, diversity within the LGBTQ community. Utilizing authoritative sources and lay-friendly definitions and explanations, this work punctures myths, misconceptions, and incorrect assumptions about sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expectations and norms. In addition, it provides an illuminating record of the history of discrimination and mistreatment to which LGBTQ people have historically been subjected in the U.S. At a time when information itself is increasingly fraught in American political discourse, this book provides facts and context for the most important questions facing LGBTQ Americans, past, present, and future. Provides readers with factual, easy-to-understand information about sexuality, sexual orientation, and gender identity Confronts falsehoods, half-truths, and misconceptions about LGBTQ identity and life in the U.S. Bridges the divide between disparate sources of information about LGBTQ identity and rights in the U.S. Paints a broad narrative about sociopolitical change surrounding LGBTQ people and rights over time
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781440875052Publication Date: 2021-12-31
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies by
Transgender studies, broadly defined, has become increasingly prominent as a field of study over the past several decades, and particularly the last five to ten years. Numerous news headlines can be found that center on transgender lives and policies that impact them. Trans people's restroom access, their participation in the military, the issuing of driver's licenses that allow a third gender option, genderqueer teens, trans youth and medical treatment, and the media's misgendering of trans actors are among the varied topics featured by these news articles.More and more, doctors, nurses, psychologists, social workers, counselors, educators, higher education administrators, student affairs personnel, and others are working with trans individuals in medical, clinical, and educational environments (among others). Very often, they have little formal training or awareness of the life experiences and needs of the trans population. This can seriously interfere with open communications and can negatively impact health outcomes and well-being, as well as interfering with educational and career success and advancement. Access to information presented by authoritative, academic sources can go a long way in correcting misconceptions and providing information not widely available.This encyclopedia, featuring nearly 300 authoritative essays, will take an interdisciplinary approach to trans studies. Psychology, sociology, history, family studies, K-12 and higher education, law/political science, and medicine will be heavily emphasized. Other areas covered will include anthropology, economics, literature, popular culture, the media, and sports. The project will also cover key historical figures, events, and organizations that are relevant to trans studies.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1544393814Publication Date: 2021-04-09
Clinicians Guide to Lgbtqia+ Care by
Strive for health equity and surmount institutional oppression when treating marginalized populations with this distinct resource!This unique text provides a framework for delivering culturally safe clinical care to LGBTQIA populations filtered through the lens of racial, economic, and reproductive justice. It focuses strongly on the social context in which we live, one where multiple historical processes of oppression continue to manifest as injustices in the health care setting and beyond. Encompassing the shared experiences of a diverse group of expert health care practitioners, this book offers abundant examples, case studies, recommendations, and the most up-to-date guidelines available for treating LGBTQIA patient populations. Rich in clinical scenarios that describe best practices for safely treating patients, this text features varied healthcare frameworks encompassing patient-centered and community-centered care that considers the intersecting and ongoing processes of oppression that impact LGBTQIA people every day--particularly people of color. This text helps health providers incorporate safe and culturally appropriate language into their care, understand the roots and impact of stigma, address issues of health disparities, and recognize and avoid racial or LGBTQIA microaggressions. Specific approaches to care include chapters on sexual health care, perinatal care, and information about pregnancy and postpartum care for transgender and gender-expansive people. Key Features: Emphasizes patient-centered care incorporating an understanding of patient histories, safety needs, and power imbalances Provides tools for clinician self-reflection to understand and alleviate implicit bias Fosters culturally safe language and communication skills Presents abundant patient scenarios including specific dos and don'ts in patient treatment Includes concrete objectives, conclusions, terminology, and references in each chapter and discussion questions to promote critical thought Offers charts and information boxes to illuminate key information
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826169150Publication Date: 2021-01-28
The International LGBT Rights Movement by
During the past three decades, the international lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender rights movement has made significant advances in securing legal protections and rights. However, millions of LGBT people continue to live in fear in nations where homosexuality remains illegal In The International LGBT Rights Movement, Laura Belmonte offers a comprehensive account of this global force, from its origins in the early 1970s to its crucial place in world affairs today. Belmonte examines the movement's goals, the disputes about its mission, and its rise to international importance. The International LGBT Rights Movement provides a thorough introduction to the movement's history, highlighting the key figures, controversies, and organizations, including Amnesty International and the International Lesbian and Gay Human Rights Commission. The book is global in scope and integrates both state and non-state actors to explore transnational attempts to challenge homophobia and to assess both the successes and failures of such efforts.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781472513236Publication Date: 2021-01-14
The Oxford Encyclopedia of LGBT Politics and Policy by
This encyclopedia reviews and interprets a broad array of social science and humanities research on LGBT people, politics, and public policy around the world. The articles are organized around six major themes of the study of identity politics, with a focus on movement politics, public attitudes, political institutions, elections, and the broader context of political theory. Under the editorial directorship of Donald P. Haider-Markel and associate editors Carlos Ball, Gary Mucciaroni, Bruno Perreau, Craig A. Rimmerman, and Jami K. Taylor, this publication brings together peer-reviewed contributions by leading researchers and offers the most comprehensive view of research on LGBT politics and policy to date. As a result, the Oxford Encyclopedia of LGBT Politics and Policy is a necessary resource for students and as well as both new and established scholars.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0190677929Publication Date: 2021-07-27
Article Indexes and Databases for LGBTQI Studies
Trying to determine which database is best for your area of LGBTQI-related research can sometimes prove to be the most difficult part of the research process. Here is a selection of databases which have been found to have excellent interdisciplinary coverage of topics related to LGBTQI and sexuality research.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new windowNewspapers, magazines, and journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Highly recommended comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Journal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new windowMainstream and alternative gay and lesbian newspapers, newsletters, and periodicals from several countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain, etc.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, websites, etc.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowAlternative press journals, magazines, and newspapers covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinx, gays, lesbians, etc.
- Left Index This link opens in a new windowPolitical, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship. Citations and abstracts (with some full text).
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowArchival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowScholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
- LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowBooks, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology. Includes popular press and other media.
- Sex & Sexuality This link opens in a new windowCorrespondence, research papers, and records from the Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections, including collections from the ONE Archives at USC and the British National Lesbian and Gay Survey, explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities, and sexual behaviors.
Finding more articles
LBGTQI studies is an interdisciplinary field, with researchers from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities contributing to the field.
Therefore you could potentially find information on LBGTQI studies in any article database/search engine.
Interested in health issues in the LGBTQ community? Try a health/medical database such as PubMed.
Studying LGBTQ issues across cultures? Try searching an Anthropology database such as Anthrosource.
Librarians at Vanderbilt have designated key databases for a variety of fields of study. To get started, go to Find articles & databases and choose the subject that is closest to the area of your research topic.
Getting Fulltext Online
