It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The heart of the site is the author's (Tim Dirks a renown film critic) lists of greatest films. Entries include detailed reviews, synopses, and historical backgrounds. Additional features include "Film History by Decade" and "Film Terms Glossary".
Provides a database of 500 film schools, answers to more than 200 FAQs, discussion forums and much more.
Bisexual Characters in Film: From Anaïs to Zee
Central 7th Floor: PN1995.9 .B57 B78 1997 -- Wayne Bryant's review of bisexual representations in film starts with 1914's "A Florida Enchantment" (starring Edith Storey) and surveys movies all the way through to Drew Barrymore in "Poison Ivy" (1992) and other films.
The Celluloid Closet
Central 7th floor: PN1995.9 .H55 R8 1987 -- Vito Russo's seminal study of gays in the cinema from silents through the 1980s. The documentary film by Rob Epstein & Jeffrey Friedman is also available, but currently only in VHS format (Videotape 1494, located at Government Information & Media Services).
New Queer Cinema : A Critical Reader
Central 7th floor: PN1995.9 .H55 N48 2004 -- 2004 study of queer cinema edited by Michele Aaron. Topics include Todd Haynes, Gregg Araki, "Art Cinema and Murderous Lesbians," "New Black Queer Cinema."
The Complete Film Dictionary (2nd edition)
Central Reference 4th-flr: REF PN1993.45 K66 1997 -- Provides definitions along with history, theory, technical awareness, and business practice of the motion picture industry.
The Film Encyclopedia (3rd edition)
Central Reference 4th-flr: PN1993.45 .K34 2005 -- Most respected single-volume reference source in the field today.
International Motion Picture Almanac
Central Reference 4th-flr: PN1993.3 .I55 -- Treasure trove of miscellaneous information and statistical data about the film industry in the United States, Canada, and Europe.
A Biographical Dictionary of Film
Central Reference 4th-flr: PN1998.2 .T49 2002 -- Contains 1300 biographical essays on actors, film directors, screen writers and filmmakers.
Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television
Central Reference 4th-flr: PN2285 .C58 -- Extensive biographical and career information on more than 20,000 professionals currently working in the entertainment industry.
Central Reference 4th-flr: PN1993.3 .D3 -- Listing of thousands of motions pictures shown at the British Film Institute over a thirty-four year period. Heavily illustrated with film scenes.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.