Prepare for exams by using these materials
-
Past essay questions
- Available at the service desk in the library
-
Study Aids
- Available through the Westlaw lawschool home page: Study Aids section
- Acing Series – Review and Essay Questions & Exam Tips
- Includes a title on Acing the Bar Exam
- Exam Pro Series
- Includes essay questions and answers
- Acing Series – Review and Essay Questions & Exam Tips
- Available through the Westlaw lawschool home page: Study Aids section
- Print Study aids are available in the library, in the Study Aids Collection
Actual Bar review questions
- Available at NY Bar Exam website
- If you are using these materials to prepare for your law school exams, only answer questions on topics from your syllabus
Bar Review Prep Books with Essay Questions (only answer the essays on topics from your syllabus when preparing for your final exam
- Available for purchase
- PMBR: New York Essays & Multiple Choice Questions (General Bar Review)
- NY Essay Questions Book Paperback - by LLC Celebration Bar Review
- If you are using these materials to prepare for your law school exams, only answer questions on topics from your syllabus
Advice on succeeding at law school exams
Books available at Vanderbilt
See all books cataloged using the Subject Headings
Mastering the Law School Exam by
Mastering the Law School Exam is designed to provide students with a knowledgeable, reasonable, and rational voice to navigate the intricacies of law school exams. This book is practical rather than theoretical where the emphasis is on providing the type of detailed examples necessary to show students precisely "how to do it" and "how to write it." By working with numerous illustrations in the context of substantive law, students learn to: Fill the gap between what the professor refers to as learning to "think like a lawyer" and the actual means for doing so. Create a successful path from note-taking -to outlining-to exam writing. Identify the basic skills that exams seek to test and the precise manner in which they are tested. Become familiar with the general types of law school exams through examples and detailed analyses of sample answers. Use the language of the law in the writing of issues, statements of the rule, and analysis of the facts
Call Number: KF283 .D37 2006ISBN: 9780314162816Publication Date: 2006-11-10
- Darrow-Kleinhaus' Mastering the Law School ExamWestlaw Study Aids Online
Law School Success by
It answers questions students have as they begin their studies. What is a tort? Hornbook? Should I join a study group? It also explains and gives examples of the best methods for studying and for taking exams. It provides questions and model answers from actual law school exams. The Nutshell also provides information about the types of legal practice that are available to you when you graduate. And it describes the opportunities that will be available to you during your second and third years of law school, such as law journals, law clinics, internships, joint degree programs, and study abroad.
Call Number: KF283 .B874 2008ISBN: 9780314167798Publication Date: 2008-04-08
Law School Exams by
Law School Exams: Preparing and Writing to Win provides law students with a practical guide to success, from admission to law school to the first set of exams. This 200-page paperback conveys two points about exam taking that are vital to every law student: (1) exam scores can always be improved if the student masters effective exam techniques such as those outlined in this book, and (2) preparing to perform well on exams begins with a positive mind-set on the first day of class and steadily proceeds with solid study techniques throughout the semester. Well written and highly accessible, this concise paperback guides law students, step-by-step, through procedures that will help them take exams successfully: the author's style is accessible and reassuring; recognizing that law students operate under severe time constraints, he makes his points clearly and concisely starting with creative examples and illustrations in familiar, non-legal contexts. The author introduces students to new concepts by analogy and then advances to more complex legal examples, exercises and practice exams, with a focus on essay questions and model answers that help students identify their strengths and weaknesses, plan strategies, and organize their efforts. The author addresses techniques for maximizing scores on several types of essay questions, as well as on multiple-choice and other objective questions. The author helps students understand why the typical law school essay question requires a balanced analysis with arguments for both sides, rather than identification of a clear answer. Assignments and exercises facilitate active learning. In addition to teaching students analysis and exam-taking skills, Law School Exams: Preparing and Writing to Win addresses exam anxiety with a helpful, positive perspective. The author helps students understand that a small degree of anxiety can serve as a productive motivator; helps students learn how to reduce anxiety to a productive level by placing exams into proper perspective, by preparing thoroughly, and by adopting stress-management techniques, such as stretching, meditation, or motivational music.
Call Number: KF283 .C35 2007ISBN: 9780735563568Publication Date: 2007-05-11
Open Book: succeeding on exams from the first day of law school by
A concise, highly accessible guide to exam success. Provides an insider s view of what professors look for in exam answers, and how exam-taking connects to good lawyering. Accompanied by a Web site with content that is both free (e.g., sample outlines, class notes, case briefs) and for-sale (e.g., sample exams and memos written by professors giving feedback on the answers). Features: High-profile, experienced authors from elite schools with hands-on experience teaching the majority of the courses in the traditional 1L curriculum Distinctive central pedagogy: the pinball method of exam-taking Accompanied by Web site with content that is both free (e.g., sample outlines, class notes, case briefs) and for-sale (e.g., sample exams and memos written by professors giving feedback on the answers). Explains to students not just the how but the why of law school exams what makes law school exams different from exams students have encountered in other settings Detailed examples provide concrete demonstrations of exam-taking techniques Highly readable: prose is straightforward and humorous; key points accented with memorably amusing illustrations Not just an exam prep book; students are offered guidance on getting the most out of classes, and law school more generally
Call Number: KF283 .F75 2011ISBN: 9781454806073Publication Date: 2011-07-26
Writing Essay Exams to Succeed in Law School by
Ancillary purchase book appropriate for incoming and first - year law students, law students in academic support programs, pre - law students, and graduates studying for the bar exam. Features: The student answer to the Hayakawa problem in Chapter 4 is now annotated to show key features, such as explanations of rules, explanation of elements, application of sub-elements to facts, and conclusions An all-new Chapter 8 explains how exams are like the real practice of law
Call Number: KF283 .D47 2014ISBN: 9781454841623Publication Date: 2014-04-02
Interactive Tutorials & Podcasts: Exam Success
Students should contact the reference librarians to get the CALI Registration Code for Vanderbilt Law School.
- Writing Better Law School Exams: The Importance of StructureThis program is designed to be useful to students interested in improving their exam-writing techniques. In much of the written work done by lawyers (including writing exams as students), a special form of writing is used. The program begins with an explicit discussion of that form, and the structural implications it has. Within that specific context, the program goes on to discuss the tasks to be performed, the tools used in performing those tasks, and methods of sharpening those tools. The program concludes with some interactive opportunities to try the techniques described.
- Top 10 Tips for Successfully Writing a Law School Essay11 minute podcast.
Prof. Jennifer Martin discusses the top ten mistakes law students make in law school examinations. These are poor issue spotting, poor issue spotting, poor knowledge and understanding of the law, poor application of the law to the facts, giving only conclusory answers, lack of organization, errors in the facts, failure to understand the role you are given in the examination, padding, fact inventing, and question begging. - Tips for Multiple Choice Exams in Law School11 minute podcast.
Prof. Burnham, provides students with advice on multiple choice exam questions. Prof. Burnham goes into the different aspects of a multiple choice question: the stimulus, options, key, and distracters. Additionally, Prof. Burnham discusses the different types of multiple choice questions such as questions that test a student’s ability to recall information, those that draw on materials discussed in class, and those that require analysis.
Sample Print Study Aids available in Vanderbilt Library
Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...
