Research Guides: International Finance Law Resources: Industry & Financial Information

Industry Information

Equity analyst reports, industry reports, and trade and association publications are all valuable industry data resources.

Equity Analyst Reports

These reports are primarily available through databases provided by the Walker Management Library. More information is available on the Analyst and Investment Reports guide.

Industry reports

These reports are primarily available through databases provided by the Walker Management Library. More information is available on the Industry Overviews guide.

Trade and Association Publications

Industry-specific associations often produce trade and association publications which provide detailed information about that industry. To find specific associations, search the Encyclopedia of Associations (under Organizations) and browse their websites for their publications. Keep in mind that some organizations operate as a special interest (e.g., National Rifle Association) while others are more impartial (e.g., American Bar Association).

For specific publications, search by title name in our catalog.

Financial Data

Data and statistics are available through a variety of resources, including:

Bloomberg Terminals
Available at the Walker Management LIbrary

more... less...

Data on equities, indices, fixed-income, currencies, commodities, and futures

Business Source Complete
Covers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.

All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
Calcbench
Conduct financial statement analysis, financial accounting and auditing using SEC (Security and Exchange Commission) XBRL data. Analyze financial data for public companies with an interactive data platform. Understand competitor financials, identify potential risks to firms, analyze trends across industry sectors.

Access Note: Users must create a login with a valid Vanderbilt.edu address. The login allows access the databases customization features.
PrivCo
Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations: family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Company financials, M&A deals, valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, etc.

Access Note: Users must create individual accounts. PrivCo limits Excel downloads.
IMF eLibrary - Data
International statistics related to domestic and international finance. International payments, rates of inflation & deflation, exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, monetary policy, interest rates, etc. Includes Government Finance Statistics (GFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Trade and Investment, and International Financial Statistics (IFS).

Access Note: Download feature only works on VU campus; set up personal account first. Coverage: Historical data for BOP, DOT, and IFS are available from 1948, and for GFS from 1972. User Limit: 5.