Historical News - HIST 3980W - Junior Honors Seminar in History - Research Guides at Vanderbilt University

Historical News Sources

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Historical access to the following newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Defender, The Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Cleveland Call & Post, The Commercial Appeal, Detroit Free Press, The Globe and Mail, Hartford Courant, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Korea Times, Knoxville News Sentinel, Leftist Newspapers, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, New York Tribune, Norfolk Journal & Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, San Francisco Chronicle, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The Tennessean, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Direct link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
Access World News Research Collection
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
Gale Primary Sources
Newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).
East View Global Press Archive
A comprehensive collection of digital news sources from around the world encompassing newspapers in more than 30 language.
America's Historical Newspapers
Cover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers offers an unprecedented look back into the history of the United States—the story of its people, ideals, commerce, and everyday life. Includes the following collections: African American Newspapers Series 1 & 2, American Religion: Denominational Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic, Early American Newspapers: 1690-1789, Early American Newspapers: 1780-1789, and Hispanic American Newspapers.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
Access Note: Personal account required for some functionality.
African American Newspapers (Readex)
Extensive African American newspaper archives. Includes the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society, Freedom's Journal (NY), The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN), etc.
Coverage: 1827-1998.
Chinese Newspapers Collection
Historical newspapers providing first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society and events.
Coverage: 1832-1953.
Latin American Newsstream
Principal newspapers from most Latin American countries and many newspapers from Puerto Rico. Regional news, business, sports and the arts, regional wire services and magazines. In Spanish and/or Portuguese.
Coverage: 1991 to present.
World Newspaper Archive
Historical newspapers from North America, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa and South Asia. (note: North American section includes Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, and the US.)

Access Note: Vanderbilt and CRL member institutions. Coverage: 18th - 20th centuries.

American Periodicals
Special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Includes Ladies' Home Journal, Harper's, and professional journals.
Coverage: 1740-1940.
Magazine Archives (EBSCOHost)
Collection of popular magazine archives.
Ebony Magazine Archive, Life Magazine Archive, Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive, The Atlantic Magazine Archive, The Nation Magazine Archive, Time Magazine Archive, The National Review Archive, Architectural Digest Magazine Archive, Maclean's Magazine Archive, People Magazine Archive, The New Republic Magazine Archive, U.S. News and World Report Magazine Archive, Vanity Fair Magazine Archive, Jet Magazine Archive
News, Policy, & Politics Magazine Archive
Archive of 15 major magazines (including Newsweek), spanning areas including history of politics, current events, international relations, and public policy.
Coverage: 1918-2015.
African American Periodicals
Holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society. Based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998).
Coverage: 1825-1995.
Black South African Magazines
Digital collection of rare and historically significant magazines written for Black audiences in Africa from 1937 to 1973.
British Periodicals
Periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Economist (Historical Archive)
Historical archive of The Economist. Primary source for politics, current affairs, business, and trade. Topic and area supplements and surveys.
Coverage:1843 - 2020
LGBT Magazine Archive
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.
Coverage: 1954-2015.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Index of articles from magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic, Reader's Digest, Saturday Evening Post, Saturday Review, Scribner's, and Women's Home Companion.
Coverage: 1890-1982.
Religious Magazine Archive
Archive of magazines covering a wide variety of denominations and religious movements, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.
Coverage: 1845-2015.
Women's Magazine Archive
Women’s interest consumer magazines with detailed article-level indexing. Includes Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day.
Coverage: late-19th century to 2005.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Streaming access to over 50 years of broadcasting news programming. The archive is located in Suite 200 of the John Seigenthaler First Amendment Center at 1207 18th Ave S, Nashville, TN. Staff are available by appointment Monday through Friday from 9am to 4:00pm.

Academic Video Online
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films.
Access World News Research Collection
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
Access Note: Personal account required for some functionality.
Factiva
Business magazines, trade publications, and newspapers; includes the Wall Street Journal.
Logs out after 15 minutes of inactivity.
Libguide for Factiva