Industry Research
INDUSTRY RESEARCH is all about the competitors, products, and services that are provided. These databases are a good place to begin your research:
- Hoovers This link opens in a new windowDetails on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news.
This database has market research reports attached to the PARENT company record. Open the Parent (Public or Private), scroll down to Industry, and select the link for the NAICS code. This links you to market research reports, and note that you can VIEW ALL as only five will be displayed.
- First ResearchCall Prep Sheets with conversation starters, industry reviews, SWOT, and Executive talking points
Large or Small Industry?
If an INDUSTRY is well established (like cars or computers), finding enough background information on the industry or market is pretty straightforward. An industry may not be well covered if it is a niche, new, or relatively small. Think about the typewriter, which was replaced by the computer. Initially, there was no market research or industry data on computers. So your best bet was to look for information about typewriters to start to understand the possibilities of the new computer industry:
- How many typewriters were sold each year? Were sales increasing? (size of potential market)
- Who were the major typewriter manufacturers? (competition)
- Were they used more at home or work? (tells you who the customer is, business or individuals)
Finding information will be more difficult if an industry is niche or small. Sources of information that can also help are industry associations, which can be found at the link below:
- Directory of AssociationsThe Directory of Associations has been delivering Association information since 2008. The team at SYNCNET created the system that allows anyone to do research free on over 36,000 associations worldwide.
The following library databases provide industry reports:
- First Research (Intellect) This link opens in a new window
Industry Profiles: overviews, challenges, trends, executive insight, call prep questions, financials, forecasts, growth rating, and industry drivers. Industries by economic metrics: financial, HR, industry drivers, forecasts.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of industry reports; market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.
Industry & Company Statistics
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowFederal, state, and international statistical, economic, demographic, and geographic information. National income and production statistics, retail and wholesale trade data, interest rates, economic indicators, and social and demographic statistics, plus data on energy, environmental protection, agriculture, fisheries, crime, etc.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowQuantitative data, statistics, infographics, and related information compiled from market research institutes, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Statistical Abstracts Series This link opens in a new windowMany historical editions of the Statistical Abstract of the United States, State and Metropolitan Area Data Book, and County and City Data Book.
Market Research
- eMarketerFor nearly 25 years, eMarketer has been trusted by CMOs as the most comprehensive source of information on how to operate in a digital world, offering transparently sourced and vetted data from thousands of sources distilled into charts, forecasts, and robust reports that provide unparalleled insight into changing consumer behaviors.
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Quantitative and qualitative analysis of the market; primary research and expert analysis, including industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovations, buyer behavior, market share, etc.
- Market Research and American Business Reports This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports by consumer analyst Ernest Dichter and his Institute for Motivational Research, commissioned by advertising agencies and businesses such as Philip Morris, Chrysler, and CBS on products ranging from tobacco and broadcasting to cars and hotels.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Market research reports focused on consumers in the U.S., U.K., European, and some Asian markets. Market drivers, size & trends and segmentation; supply structure, advertising & promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics & forecasts.
- RKMA Market Research Reports This link opens in a new windowGuides for researching consumer markets, including market assessments and forecasts, sector trends, profiles of market leaders, and statistics.
- World Trade Organization: International Trade and Market Access Data This link opens in a new window
Annual compilation of global trade statistics. Includes detailed analysis and tables (leading traders, trade by sector and product, regional trade, LDCs, etc).
Thought Leaders
Thought Leaders are industry experts who are generally respected as being knowledgeable about an industry or market, often leading consulting firms or major companies publish information on the Web about state-of-the-art thinking or status. Here is an example using Google Advanced Search to find such reports:
Scroll down for this:
Using the Google Advanced Search allows you to find more focused search results.
