History Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Periodicals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogues).
Getting Fulltext Online
Most (but not all) our history journal articles are available online. To access online journal articles from article citations, click on the 
button.
What is ?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
