Handbooks
Childhood Cognitive Development by
This definitive volume is the result of collaboration by top scholars in the field of children's cognition. New edition offers an up-to-date overview of all the major areas of importance in the field, and includes new data from cognitive neuroscience and new chapters on social cognitive development and language Provides state-of-the-art summaries of current research by international specialists in different areas of cognitive development Spans aspects of cognitive development from infancy to the onset of adolescence Includes chapters on symbolic reasoning, pretend play, spatial development, abnormal cognitive development and current theoretical perspectives
ISBN: 9781405191166Publication Date: 2010-09-07
Handbook of Online Learning by
The Handbook of Online Learning is a comprehensive reference text for teachers and administrators of online courses and programmes. It presents a discussion of the conceptual and theoretical foundations of online learning along with an exploration of practical implementation strategies. Part I first presents the changing philosophies and theories of learning. Part II covers implementation or the practice of online learning
Publication Date: 2009-05-15
Handbook of Research on Global Issues in Next-Generation Teacher Education by
There is no question that all aspects of modern life have been imbued with technology. In education, students are becoming increasingly savvy in their use of the myriad technologies and virtual tools and must be taught adequate complimentary skills to be effective in the 21st century workforce. To answer this call, teachers' education must reflect modern demands by integrating the use of these tools as part of their teaching practices.The Handbook of Research on Global Issues in Next-Generation Teacher Education addresses this need with precise, comprehensive research and case studies. With strategies and emerging research on the empowerment of tomorrow's inspirational educational leaders, this handbook of research outlines the challenges, benefits, and opportunities of engaging teachers with the 21st century skills their students require.
ISBN: 9781466699489Publication Date: 2016-02-17
Handbook of Research on Learning and Instruction by
During the past twenty years researchers have made exciting progress in the science of learning (i.e., how people learn) and the science of instruction (i.e., how to help people learn). This handbook examines learning and instruction in a variety of classroom and non-classroom environments and with a variety of learners, both K-16 students and adult learners.
Publication Date: 2010-12-14
Handbook of Research on Literacy and Diversity by
Timely and authoritative, this research handbook addresses all dimensions of diversity that have an impact on literacy achievement.
Publication Date: 2009-04-14
Handbook of Research on New Literacies by
Situated at the intersection of two of the most important areas in educational research today - literacy and technology - this work draws on the potential of each while carving out important new territory. It directs scholars to the major issues, theoretical perspectives, and interdisciplinary research on new literacies.
Publication Date: 2008-03-10
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts by
Now in its third edition, the Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts--sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English--offers an integrated perspective on the teaching of the English language arts and a comprehensive overview of research in the field.
Publication Date: 2010-12-02
Handbook on Entrepreneurship Research by
Interest and attention to entrepreneurship has exploded, yet much of the research and scholarship has remained elusive to academics, policymakers and other researchers. This reflects two crucial aspects of the entrepreneurship literature. Firstly, the explosion of new findings and insights, both theoretically and empirically. Secondly, most of this scholarship has been rooted in traditional academic disciplines, spanning a broad spectrum of fields such as management, finance, economics, sociology and psychology. these disciplines to provide an overview of what the issues are for entrepreneurship when viewed through the lens provided by the academic disciplines as well as a synthesis about what has been learned and what questions should be high on the agenda for future research.
ISBN: 1402073585Publication Date: 2003-05-31
International Handbook of Distance Education by
Distance education is arguably one of the major developments in education during the 20th Century. From schooling through to university education, distance education blossomed to facilitate frontier expansion in the New World, capacity-building in developing nations, access and equity provision in post-War societies and flexible professional development and workplace training for late-modernity. The Handbook' is intended to be a comprehensive reference work for practitioners, researchers and administrators engaged in forms of distance education in private and public education, from schooling through undergraduate and postgraduate coursework to doctoral research programs.
Routledge Handbook of International Education and Development by
This timely Handbook takes stock of the range of debates that characterise the field of international education and development, and suggests key aspects of a research agenda for the next period.The Handbook is divided in four parts. The first part explores major strands of debates about education#65533;s place in development theory. The second acknowledges the disciplining of the field by the education for all movement and examines the place that learning and teaching, and schools play in development. Part three looks beyond schools to consider early years, adult and vocational education but focuses particularly on the return to thinking about higher education's role in development. The final part considers the changing, but still important, role that international cooperation plays in shaping education in developing countries.
Publication Date: 2015-08-03
The SAGE Handbook of Educational Leadership by
This fully updated Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Educational Leadership offers an unflinching and comprehensive overview of the full range of both practical and theoretical issues facing educational leadership today. Editor Fenwick W. English and 30 renowned authors boldly address the most fundamental and contested issues in the field, including culturally relevant and distributed leadership; critical policy and practice issues predicting the new century's conflict; the paradox of changes; and the promises, paradoxes, and pitfalls of standards for educational leaders.
Publication Date: 2011-01-11
Understanding Medical Education by
Understanding Medical Education provides a comprehensive resource of the theoretical and academic bases to modern medical education practice. This authoritative and accessible reference is designed to meet the needs of all those working in medical education from undergraduate education through postgraduate training to continuing professional development. As well as providing practical guidance for clinicians, teachers and researchers. Understanding Medical Education is the ideal reference not only for medical educators, but for anyone involved in the development of healthcare professionals, in whatever discipline wherever they are in the world.
ISBN: 9781118472408Publication Date: 2013-12-31
Volunteer Management Handbook by
Drawing on the experience and expertise of recognized authorities on nonprofit organizations, The Volunteer Management Handbook, Second Edition is the only guide you need for establishing and maintaining an active and effective volunteer program. Written by nonprofit leader Tracy Connors, this handy reference offers practical guidance on such essential issues as motivating people to volunteer their time and services, recruitment, and more.
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
The Wiley Handbook of Educational Policy by
Illuminates the multiple barriers that plague the education system and shows the way toward enlightened and inclusive educational policy and policymaking This book showcases new scholarship in the broad field of education policy and governance. Authored by some of the field's foremost scholars, as well as new and up-and-coming academics, this definitive handbook offers a range of cultural, economic, and political perspectives on the state of education policy today.
Publication Date: 2018-05-22
Scholarly Literature
The library databases listed below contain scholarly literature in specific subject areas. Read each description to determine which databases would be good to use for your research. You will likely not need to use all of them.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowCumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature: authoritative coverage of literature related to nursing and allied health professionals.
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles, periodicals, yearbooks, series, and supplements on special education, educational tests, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, etc.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, books, and case studies from different areas of business, economics, education, engineering, health care, library science, organizational studies, sociology, and more.
- ERIC (ProQuest version) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs on education-related literature.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexing of all areas of linguistics. Applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, history and philosophy of language, syntax and morphology, lexicography, sociolinguistics, nonverbal communication, phonetics, learning disabilities, hearing and speech physiology.
- ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and business information. Includes: ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, Canadian Newsstand Complete, CBCA Complete, Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Pharmaceutical News Index, Asian Business & Reference, Biology Journals, Career and Technical Education, Computing, Criminal Justice, Education Journals, European Business, Family Health, Health & Medical Complete, Health Management, Military Collection, Newsstand, Nursing & Allied Health Source, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, Telecommunications, Snapshots.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycINFO is a comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature. Journals, articles, books, dissertations, etc. Subjects include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
Google Scholar Search
- Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new window
Use this link to seamlessly access VU resources via Google Scholar both on and off campus.
You can also adjust your Google Scholar settings to display the Vanderbilt Findit@VU link to appear in search results and allow for access from on or off-campus. Access Google Scholar settings by visiting this page (https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings).
Click library links on the left hand menu. in the search box, search for Vanderbilt and select: “Vanderbilt University Library – Findit@VU” (with uppercase F), Click Save.
Gray Literature
Gray literature is research produced by organizations or agencies and made available outside of the normal publishing channels such as in scholarly journals. Many times, it is possible to find this information on the organizational web sites or through Google searching.
Below are several organizations or agencies that have gray literature available.
