Librarian
Welcome!
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowProfiles of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights discussing their lives and careers and critical response to their works. Includes the Documentary Series, Main Series, and Yearbook.
-
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Deceased people who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.
-
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available.
-
A Companion to Jane Austen
by
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781282138766Publication Date: 2009-01-01Reflecting the dynamic and expansive nature of Austen studies, "A Companion to Jane Austen" provides 42 essays from a distinguished team of literary scholars that examine the full breadth of the English novelist's works and career.Provides the most comprehensive and up-to-date array of Austen scholarshipFunctions both as a scholarly reference and as a survey of the most innovative speculative developments in the field of Austen studiesEngages at length with changing contexts and cultures of reception from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries -
The Cambridge Companion to Jane Austen
by
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0521746507Publication Date: 2010-12-23Jane Austen's stock in the popular marketplace has never been higher, while academic studies continue to uncover new aspects of her engagement with her world. This fully updated edition of the acclaimed Cambridge Companion offers clear, accessible coverage of the intricacies of Austen's works in their historical context, with biographical information and suggestions for further reading. Major scholars address Austen's six novels, the letters and other works, in terms accessible to students and the many general readers, as well as to academics. With seven new essays, the Companion now covers topics that have become central to recent Austen studies, for example, gender, sociability, economics, and the increasing number of screen adaptations of the novels. -
Jane Austen : a life
by
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; PR4036 .T66 1997bISBN: 0670865281Publication Date: 1997
-
Reading with AustenReading with Austen digitally recreates the Library of Godmersham Park, the estate of Jane Austen's brother Edward Austen Knight. Our virtual library is based on an extant handwritten catalogue that lists all the books in his collection and their exact locations on his shelves. Here you can explore the Library as Jane Austen might have seen it, and browse photographs of and bibliographic information for the very editions she may have handled.
