Finding Sources
- Library Search This link opens in a new window
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. |
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some full text.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal research database. Extensive coverage of law reviews and historical access to resources such as the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and US Supreme Court decisions. Legislative history and select foreign and international materials. Contains specialized libraries: intellectual property, taxation and economic reform, etc.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Bibliography covering all the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, as well as Muslims living elsewhere, and their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Journal articles, books, reviews, and papers in multi-author volumes.
- Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
- ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and business information. Includes: ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, Canadian Newsstand Complete, CBCA Complete, Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Pharmaceutical News Index, Asian Business & Reference, Biology Journals, Career and Technical Education, Computing, Criminal Justice, Education Journals, European Business, Family Health, Health & Medical Complete, Health Management, Military Collection, Newsstand, Nursing & Allied Health Source, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, Telecommunications, Snapshots.
Google Scholar provides access to "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."
What Google Scholar does not contain, in most cases, is the fulltext of the articles -- but it does work with the library's Findit@VU service to help you get to the fulltext when available. If you are on campus, Findit@VU will automatically appear -- but if you are off campus it won't. Not clicking on Findit@VU may lead to you receiving a message indicating that you must purchase the article to view it.
Bookmark this link as your access point to Google Scholar to ensure that the Findit@VU links appears in your searches or follow the instructions for setting your preferences in the video below. Don't get caught paying for articles when you don't have to!
KEY ISLAMIC LAW JOURNALS:
Berkeley Journal of Middle East & Islamic Law
Journal of Islamic Law and Culture
UCLA Journal of Islamic and Near Eastern Law
Vanderbilt affiliates have access to many of journals concerning Islamic Studies and HIstory.
Search EJournal Titles
Use Library Catalog, the online catalog to find journal titles available in print and/or microform formats. You cannot use Library Catalog to find journal articles by subject.
https://browzine.com/libraries/519
(PCs and Laptops)
thirdiron.com/download
(Mobile Devices)
BrowZine is an app for tablets and smartphones that delivers and lets you browse, read, and save articles from thousands of the library's journals in one newsstand. BrowZine is compatible with iOS and Android tablets and smartphones. BrowZine can now be used on your laptop or computer as BrowZine Web.
With BrowZine, you can:
- Browse journals by subject area and across disciplines
- Create your own personal journal bookshelf
- Download articles in full-text in a uniform format, without having to search multiple platforms for what you need
- Save articles for offline reading, export to services Zotero and Mendeley
- Get alerts when new articles appear in your favorite journals
Encyclopedia of Canonical HadithCall Number: Divinity Library--Subject Study--3 ; BP193.28 .J89 2007Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available.
This encyclopedic work on Islam comprises English translations of all canonical ad ths, complete with their respective chains of transmission.
- Hadith Collections from Sunnah.comIncludes these collections:
Sahih Bukhari صحيح البخاري
Sahih Muslim صحيح مسلم
Sunan al-Nasa'i سنن النسائي
Sunan Abi Dawud سنن أبي داود
Jami` al-Tirmidhi جامع الترمذي
Sunan ibn Majah سنن ابن ماجه - Translations of the Qur'an from Quran.comTranslations of the Qur'an. Research tip: Use the Settings feature to select multiple translations for comparison.
- Harvard Law School's Sharia SourcePrimary sources of Islamic Law.
- Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library This link opens in a new windowEarly printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books.
- Library Search This link opens in a new window
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
- Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library This link opens in a new windowEarly printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative & International Law, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new windowTreatises and similar monographs in: international law; comparative law; foreign law; Roman law; Islamic law; Jewish law; and ancient law.
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries, established in this repository to archive and share their digital content.
- Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new window
Use this link to seamlessly access VU resources via Google Scholar both on and off campus.
You can also adjust your Google Scholar settings to display the Vanderbilt Findit@VU link to appear in search results and allow for access from on or off-campus. Access Google Scholar settings by visiting this page (https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings).
Click library links on the left hand menu. in the search box, search for Vanderbilt and select: “Vanderbilt University Library – Findit@VU” (with uppercase F), Click Save.
- Islamic Fiqh Academy of the Organization of the Islamic ConferenceArabic language site.
- Islamic Fiqh Academy of the Organization of the Islamic ConferenceEnglish language site.
- Official Egyptian FatwasFind English translations on bottom tab.
- Resolutions and Recommendations of OIC’s Islamic Fiqh AcademyCovers resolutions from 1985 to 2000.
- Shaykh Muhammad Salih al-Munajjid’s Islam Question and AnswerIndividual authority on Saudi Salafist fatwas.
- Search for Beauty and Reason in IslamCompiled by Professor Abou El Fadl.
