Your Librarian
Zoom Meetings
(Click Blue Zoom Icon Below)
Getting Started
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask A Librarian.
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections).
- return most items you check out to any library.
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
The Qur’an, Hadith, and Classical Islamic Reasoning
-
The Law of the near and Middle East
Call Number: Law Library Upper Level ; KMC79 .L53 1975Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available -
Al-Muwatta of Imam Malik ibn Anas: The First Formulation of Islamic Law
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; KBP320 .M35 A3513 2001Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available -
Themes of Islamic Civilization
Call Number: Remote (Library Annex); BP20 .W53Print Only. Sign-In to Request Item be sent to campus in 1 to 2 days. -
Islamic law of nations: Shaybānī's Siyar
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; KBP2400 .S4313 1966Print only.
Treaties and Capitulations
-
Middle East and North Africa in world politics : A Documentary Record
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; DS42 .H78 1975Print Only. Two Volumes.
-
The Long Divergence: how Islamic law held back the Middle East /
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; HC415.15 .K87 2011Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Legal Pluralism: The Case of British India
-
Institutions and Ideologies: a SOAS South Asia Reader
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; DS339 .I57 1993Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available -
Cases Illustrative of Oriental Life, Decided in H.M. Supreme Court at Bombay
Call Number: Central Library Stacks ; KNS68 .P47 1988Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Legal Reforms, Codification, and Modernism
-
Law of the near and Middle East: readings, cases, & materials
Call Number: Law Library Upper Level; KMC79 .L53 1975Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
-
Middle East and North Africa in world politics: a documentary record
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; DS42 .H78 1975Print Only. Two volumes.
-
Shariʻa politics: Islamic law and society in the modern world
Call Number: Central Library Stacks and Law Library Stacks; BP173.7 .S5315 2011Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available -
Crime and Punishment in Islamic Law: Theory and Practice from the Sixteenth to the Twenty-first Century
Call Number: Law Library Upper Level; KBP3791 .P48 2005Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available -
Modern Things on Trial: slam's Global and Material Reformation in the Age of Rida, 1865-1935
Call Number: Central Library Rm. 418A (Vanderbilt Authors Room) and Divinity Library (1st Floor); BP166.14.M63 H356 2019Unlimited User Ebook and Two Print Books Available
Slavery, Polygamy and Family Law in the Early Twentieth Century
-
The Qur'an and Its Exegesis
Call Number: Annex Remote; BP130.45 .G313Print Only. Sign In to catalog to request item be sent to campus.
-
Sources in the History of the Modern Middle East
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; DS62.4 .K53 2011Print Only. -
-
A History of Islamic Legal Theories
Call Number: Law Library Upper Level; KBL660 .H34 1997Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available
Property Law and Commercial Law in Saudi Arabia
-
Shariʻa politics: Islamic law and society in the modern world
Call Number: Central Library Stacks and Law Library; BP173.7 .S5315 2011Unlimited User Ebook and Two Print Books Available
-
CULTURESHOCK!: SAUDI ARABIA: A SURVIVAL GUIDE TO CUSTOMS AND ETIQUETTE
Unlimited User Ebook ON ORDER
-
Shari'a law in commercial and banking arbitration : law and practice in Saudi Arabia
Unlimited User Ebook Available
Jihad and Nonviolence
-
Against Islamic Extremism: the writings of Muhammad Saʻid al-ʻAshmawy
Call Number: Divinity Library--1st Floor ; BP60 .A84 2001
Islamic Law and Women’s Rights
-
Islam and Human Rights: Tradition and Politics
Unlimited User Ebook (Taylor & Francis link) Available -
Middle East and Islamic World Reader
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; DS44 .M523 2003Print Only. -
Divorce: Iranian Style
On Kanopy Platform
Religious Rights in the West + Shariʿa Law in the USA
-
European Muslims and the Secular State
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; D1056.2 .M87 E97 2005Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available -
War, Peace and International Relations in Islam
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; KBP2418 .I86 R4513 2011Print Only.
Fatwas Online: Bioethics
-
Islam in transition : Muslim perspectives
Call Number: Divinity Library--1st Floor ; BP163 .I754 2007Print Only.
Further Reading and Viewing
-
Between God and the Sultan
Call Number: Law Library Upper Level, KBP144 .V55 2005Print only available. -
Introduction to Middle Eastern Law
Call Number: Central Library Stacks; KMC79 .M35 2007Print and Ebook Available (Unlimited Users) -
Sharî'a: Theory, Practice, Transformations
Call Number: Central and Law Libraries; Stacks; KBP144 .H356 2009Two print copies held
Ebook Available (Unlimited Users) -
Justice à Agadez
Call Number: Central Media Collection (4th Floor); DVD 5961Streaming Film via DocuSeek and DVD available.
-
Divorce Iranian Style
Streaming Available via Kanopy.
-
-
Library of Congress Bibliographies on Islamic LawCovers 2003 to 2014
-
Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedic, updated treatment of broad range of Islam and Islamic culture.
-
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedic dictionary of qurʼānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qurʼānic studies.
-
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
-
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowArticles and books on Archaeology, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. Some content in Business & Management, Economics & Finance, Literature, Psychology, and Religion.
-
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
-
BrillOnline Reference Works This link opens in a new window
The collection contains: New Pauly Online, Jacoby Online, Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World, Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics, Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics, Foreign Law Guide, Encyclopaedia Islamica, Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures, Qurʾānic Studies Online, Encyclopaedia of Islam.
-
Oxford Dictionary of Islam
Call Number: Divinity Library--Subject Study--3 ; BP40 .O95 2003Unlimited User Ebook and Print Available -
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Three User Ebook Available -
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
Unlimited User Ebook Available -
Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women
Unlimited User Ebook Available
-
Introduction to Islamic Law
Access via HathiTrust
-
Encyclopedia of Islamic Law
Call Number: KBP40 .B35 1996 LAW LIBRRY UPPER-LVL -
Encyclopaedia of Islamic Law and Jurisprudence
Call Number: Law Library, Upper Level KBP144 .E55 2010 Holdings: v.1-v.11
-
-
Cornell Legal Information Institute: Legal Sources from the Middle EastSelect Middle East region to search relevant materials.
-
Islamic Family Law in Different CountriesHosted by Emory University.
-
UN International Labour OrganizationDiverse array of legal materials by country can be searched.
-
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some full text.
-
Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to book reviews: cites or links to full-text reviews.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
-
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations, and business information. Includes: ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, Canadian Newsstand Complete, CBCA Complete, Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Pharmaceutical News Index, Asian Business & Reference, Biology Journals, Career and Technical Education, Computing, Criminal Justice, Education Journals, European Business, Family Health, Health & Medical Complete, Health Management, Military Collection, Newsstand, Nursing & Allied Health Source, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, Telecommunications, Snapshots.
Library Perks
-
Library PerksVanderbilt Libraries offers a variety of resources and services for research and scholarship. Make sure you don't miss out on any of these library perks for Vanderbilt affiliates.
