Background Information: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Gather background information on your topic from general resources such as wikipedia, dictionaries, or encyclopedias. While these may not be sources you use in a bibliography, it is a great place to learn more on your topic before diving into the literature. You can search the library catalog or explore the following databases and texts below.
Access Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Using the Library Catalog and Database
- Bloomsbury Popular Music This link opens in a new windowExplores the historical origins and cultural impact of popular music, influential artists and albums, local music scenes and subcultures, musical form, instruments, the workings of the music industry, and the social, political, and economic context of different musical genres.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes: Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. These may be searched together or individually. Grove Music Online contains the following important music reference sources: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Music around the world : a global encyclopedia by Call Number: E-Book, Online Access
Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the WorldCall Number: E-book, Online Access
Browse Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries in the Reference Section at the Wilson Music Library:
- ML101 - Encyclopedias and dictionaries by country or region
- ML120 - Bibliographies by country or region
