HOD 8810: Community Inquiry Reading List

Research Autobiographies

Article Critique of Jones et al. (2019)

Tebes, J.K. (2017). Foundations for a philosophy of science of community psychology: Perspectivism, pragmatism, feminism, and critical theory. Handbook. 21-40.

Christens, B., & Perkins, D. D. (2008). Transdisciplinary, multilevel action research to enhance ecological and psychopolitical validity. Journal of Community Psychology, 36, 214-231. doi:10.1002/jcop.20232 

Abo-Zena, M.M., Jones, K., & Mattis, J. (2022). Dismantling the master’s house: Decolonizing “rigor” in psychological scholarship. Journal of Social Issues, 78: 298–319. doi: 10.1111/josi.12519

Also of Interest:

Collins, P. H. (2000). Black feminist thought: Knowledge, consciousness and the politics of empowerment (2nd ed.). New York, NY: Routledge. Chapter 11: Black Feminist Epistemology: 251-271

Ross et al. (2010). Human subjects protections in community-engaged research: A research ethics framework. Journal of Empirical Research on Human Research Ethics, 5-17. doi: 10.1525/jer.2010.5.1.5

Suiter, S. (2017). Navigating community development conflicts: contested visions of poverty and poverty alleviation. American Journal of Community Psychology, 60, 459-466. doi 10.1002/ajcp.12194

Ethics codes (to discuss in class, so bring laptops so we can refer to these):

1. American Anthropological Association: https://www.americananthro.org/LearnAndTeach/Content.aspx?ItemNumber=22869

2. American Psychological Association: http://www.apa.org/ethics/code/

3. American Sociological Association: https://www.asanet.org/sites/default/files/asa_code_of_ethics-june2018a.pdf

4. American Public Health Association: https://www.apha.org/-/media/files/pdf/membergroups/ethics/code_of_ethics.ashx

5. American Association of Geographers: https://www.aag.org/statement-of-professional-ethics/

Jones, L. V., & Thissen, D. (2007). A history and overview of psychometrics. In C.R. Rao and S. Sinharay (eds). Handbook of Statistics, 26: Psychometrics (pp.1-27). Amsterdam: North Holland. A free version of this chapter can be obtained here, courtesy of https://www.psychometricsociety.org/what-psychometrics

Henry, D. (2017). More than metaphor: Conceptualization and measurement of social setting characteristics. Handbook. 91-105.

Babbie, E. (2020) The practice of social research. Cengage. Chapters 7 (The logic of sampling) and 9 (Survey research). See Peabody Reserves.

Perkins, D. D., & Taylor, R. B. (1996). Ecological assessments of community disorder: Their relationship to fear of crime and theoretical implications. American Journal of Community Psychology, 24, 63-107.

Lehrner, A., & Allen, N. E. (2008). Social change movements and the struggle over meaning-making: A case study of domestic violence narratives. American journal of community psychology, 42, 220-234.

Brodsky, A.E., Mannarini, T., Buckingham, S.L. & Scheibler, J.E. (2017). Kindred spirits in scientific revolution: Qualitative methods in community psychology. Handbook. 75-90.

Lincoln, Y.S. & Guba, E.G (1986). But is it rigorous? Trustworthiness and authenticity in naturalistic evaluation. New Directions for Program Evaluation, 30, 73-84.

Hughes, D., & DuMont, K. (1993). Using focus groups to facilitate culturally anchored research. American Journal of Community Psychology, 21, 775-805.

Also of interest:

Carse, A. (2014) The conquest of the jungle. In Carse, A. Beyond the Big Ditch. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press.

Shadish, W. R., Cook, T. D., & Campbell, D. T. (2002). Experimental and Quasi-Experimental Designs for Generalized Causal Inference (chapters 8 & 9, pp. 246-311). Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company. See Peabody Reserves.

Gubits, D., Shinn, M., Wood, M., Brown, S., Dastrup, S. R., & Bell, S. H. (2018). What interventions work best for families who experience homelessness? Impact estimates from the Family Options Study. Journal of Policy Analysis and Management 37, 835-866. DOI: 10.1002/pam.22071

FALL BREAK – NO CLASS

Brown, C., Ten Have, T. R., Jo, B., Dagne, G., Wyman, P.A., Muthén, B., & Gibbons, R. D. (2009). Adaptive designs for randomized trials in public health. Annual Review of Public Health, 30, 1-25. doi 10.1146/annurev.publhealth.031308.100223

Michalopoulos, C. (2005). Precedents and prospects for randomized experiments. In H.S Bloom (Ed.), Learning more from social experiments: Evolving analytic approaches (pp. 1-36). New York, NY: Russell Sage.

West et al. (2008). Alternatives to the randomized controlled trial. American Journal of Public Health, 98(8), 1359-1366.

Beehler, S., & Trickett, E. J. (2017). Community psychology misdirected? The case of evidence-based interventions. Handbook. 455–468.

Campbell, R., Shaw, J. & Gregory, K.A. (2017). Giving voice- and the numbers, too: Mixed methods research in community psychology. Handbook. 139-153.

Heinrich, C. J., Camacho, S., Henderson, S. C., Hernandez, M., & Joshi, E. (2022). Consequences of administrative burden for social safety nets that support the healthy development of children. Journal of Policy Analysis and Management, 41 (1), 11-44. doi:10.1002/pam.22324.

Javdani, S., Larsen, S. E., Allen, N. E., Blackburn, A. M., Griffin, B., & Rieger, A. (2023). Mixed methods in community psychology: A values‐forward synthesis. American journal of community psychology, 72(3-4), 355-365.

Lykes, B.M. (2017). Community-based and participatory action research: Community psychology collaborations within and across borders. Handbook. 43-58.

Fine, M., & Torre, M. E. (2019). Critical Participatory Action Research: A feminist project for validity and solidarity. Psychology of Women Quarterly, 43, 433-444. doi 10.1177/0361684319865255

Haapanen, K. A., Christens, B. D., Cooper, D. G., & Jurinsky, J. (2024). Alliance-building for equity and justice: An inter-organizational perspective. Evaluation and Program Planning, 102, 102382. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.evalprogplan.2023.102382

Oct 31st (11)

Fowler, P.J & Todd, N.R. (2017). Methods for multiple levels of analysis: Capturing context, change, and changing context. Handbook. 59-74.

Raudenbush, S. W. & Sampson, R. J. (1999). Ecometrics: Toward a science of assessing ecological settings with application to the systematic social observation of neighborhoods. Sociological Methodology, 29, 1-41.

Also of interest:

Allen, N. E., Todd, N. R., Anderson, C. J., Davis, S. M., Javdani, S., Bruehler, V., & Dorsey, H. (2013). Council-based approaches to intimate partner violence: Evidence for distal change in the system response. American Journal of Community Psychology, 52, 1-12.

Javdani, S., Allen, N. E., Todd, N. R., & Anderson, C. J. (2011). Examining systems change in the response to domestic violence: Innovative applications of multilevel modeling. Violence against women, 17(3), 359-375.

Nov 7th (12)

Chetty, R. & Hendren, N. (2018). The impacts of neighborhoods on intergenerational mobility I: Childhood exposure effects. Quarterly Journal of Economics, 133(3), 1107-1162. https://doi.org/10.1093/qje/qjy007

McDonald, Y. J. & Jones, N. E. (2018). Drinking water violations and environmental justice in the United States, 2011-2015. American Journal of Public Health, 108(10), pp.1401-1407. doi:10.2105/AJPH.2018.304621

Shelton, T. (2018). Rethinking the RECAP: mapping the relational geographies of concentrated poverty and affluence in Lexington, Kentucky. Urban Geography, 39(7), 1070–1091. https://doi.org/10.1080/02723638.2018.1433927

Shiell, A. & Riley, T. (2017). Methods and methodology of systems analysis. Handbook. 155-169. 

Diehl, D. & Marx, R.A. (2019). Following the leader: The evolving network of charter school giving. Teachers College Record, 121 (10), 1-32. doi:10.1177/016146811912101005.

Nov 21st (14)

Tanner-Smith, E.E., Lipsey, M.W. & Durlak, J.A. (2017). Meta-analysis: Potentials and limitations for synthesizing research in community psychology. Handbook. 123-137.

Bezrukova, K., Spell, C. S., Perry, J. L., & Jehn, K. A. (2016). A meta-analytical integration of over 40 years of research on diversity training evaluation [Electronic version]. Retrieved from Cornell University, SHA School site: http://scholarship.sha.cornell.edu/articles/974

Nov 28th (15)

NO CLASS – THANKSGIVING BREAK

Dec 5th (16)

Miller, R.L. (2017). The practice of program evaluation in community psychology: Intersections and opportunities for stimulating social change. Handbook. 107-121.

Suiter, S.V. (2017). Community health needs assessment and action planning in seven Dominican bateyes. Evaluation and Program Planning, 60, 103-111. doi 10.1016/j.evalprogplan.2016.10.011