GIMS DVD/Videotape Collection by Genre: Art

"The National Gallery in London houses one of the world's greatest collections of works by the seventeenth-century painter Diego Velázquez. In this film Leah Kharibian investigates his paintings, both those in the Gallery and elsewhere, and attempts to explain this Spanish master's almost universal popularity. Velázquez was born in Seville in 1599, and studied there before being called to Madrid and the court of King Philip IV in 1623. He remained the king's court painter until he died in 1660, producing portraits of Philip's family and decorating his palaces, while also executing paintings for himself and other patrons. In 1656 he completed the picture known as The family of Philip IV (Las Meninas), which is now in the Museo Nacional del Prado. It is one of the most ambitious paintings ever made -- a vast canvas showing a group of figures in Velázquez's cavernous studio in Alcazár, the palace of the Spanish royal family in Madrid. Through this majestic work Kharibian surveys Velázquez's entire career, explaining how he came to make one of the great masterpieces of European painting"--Container.

"Dance and film have shared the aspiration to creatively sculpt motion and time"--http://www.unseen-cinema.com/.

Includes DVD containing VJ software, mixable video clips, live performance footage, excerpts from the documentary film Video out, and historical matieral.

"A variety of traditional Japanese theater, this program presents the heart of Noh, Bunraku, and the total experience which is Kabuki." -www.shopgpn.com

Short films presented in honor of the 100th anniversary of film.

Presents 26 films by artists who helped to redefine cinema. Shows an array of film types and styles, from abstract animation to documentary and balances acknowledged classics with rediscoveries. The films are drawn from the preservation work of five of America's foremost avant-garde archives: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Anthology Film Archives, The Museum of Modern Art, The New York Public Library, and The Pacific Film Archive. None of the titles has been available before on good-quality video in the United States.

"DVD-ROM (PAL) includes unpublished pictures and step-by-step explanations of santeria works." www.books.google.com"

"So you want to make a documentary, but think you don't have a lot of time, money, or experience? It's time to get down and dirty! Down and dirty is a filmmaking mindset. It's the mentality that forces you to be creative with your resources. It's about doing more with less. Get started NOW with this book and DVD set, a one-stop shop written by a guerrilla filmmaker, for guerrilla filmmakers. You will learn how to make your project better, faster, and cheaper. The pages are crammed with 500 full-color pictures, tips from the pros, resources, checklists and charts, making it easy to find what you need fast." www.amazon.com

The project selected 5 recognized artist-professors with studios in Rio de Janeiro: Amador Perez, Anna Bella Geiger, Carlos Zilio, Joao Carlos Goldberg and Thereza Miranda. They suggested 30 young artists with ateliers in Rio, who in turn suggested other artists. As a whole, 83 studios were visited that includes the 5 principal artist-professors. The 83 artists represent a variety of media that included photography, sculpture, and video. Some of the artists include: Alexander Vogler, Ana Freitas, Andres Amaral, Gisele Ribeiro, Bruno de Carvalho, Joao Carlos Goldberg, Thereza Miranda. Includes DVD directed by Rodrigo Ponichi.

Eileen Atkins' one-woman performance recreates Virginia Woolf's 1928 talk to the women of Girton College, Cambridge University, on which her essay A room of one's own was partially based. Woolf calls women to declare their independence, talent and freedom to write, think, love and labor, and to control their own destinies, while also acknowledging that communion between men and women is also important.

"The DVD depicts dynamic images of New York City and scenes of New Yorkers among the skyscrapers, streets, and night life of America's greatest city during a half century of progress, while at the same time showing changes in film style and the history of cinema experiments"--http://www.unseen-cinema.com/.

A collection of short films, music videos, animations and motion graphic works by award-winning filmmakers and artists from France, Japan, the United Kingdom, the United States, Australia, and Austria.

These home-made films incorporate avant-garde strategies and techniques to achieve a true sense of cinematic intimacy"--http://www.unseen-cinema.com/.

The story of the pictures we have taken and where they have taken us. The series traces the profound effect photographs have had on American life-- influencing what we buy, how we dress, how we get the news, and in the matters of life and death, medicine, science, and war.

A filmed play adaptation from the Jean Anouilh reinterpretation of the Sophocles tragedy. First written and produced during the Nazi Occupation, this play about a young woman facing a morally corrupt world raises powerful questions of human interaction in regard to collaboration, responsibility and personal integrity.

This film uses archival footage and computer graphics to illustrate how Russian Avant-garde art of the 1920s and 30s influenced the development of architecture in Russia both before and after the revolution, concentrating on such figures as Malevich, Tatlin and Melnikov. Shot entirely in Moscow the film offers a unique insight into the artistic milieu which was prevalent in this period in post-revolutionary Russia.

"A look at contemporary art and artists." www.imdb.com

"Go behind the scenes to meet today's most fascinating contemporary artists in Season Three of the Emmy-nominated ART:21--ART IN THE 21st CENTURY documentary series. Unparalled in access to today's young artists, this unique series takes viewers into artists' studios, homes, and communities to provide an intimate view of their lives, work, creative processes, and sources of inspiration. The four one-hour programs present 18 artists working in the United States..."--Case.

"Meet contemporary artists at work and speaking in their own words--direct, accessible, and unfiltered--in Season Four of the Emmy-nominated ART:21--ART IN THE TWENTY-FIRST CENTURY documentary series. ... This unique four-hour series spotlights 17 artists working in the United States today, and invites viewers behind the scenes to see artists at work in their homes, communities, and unexpected sites--from an old-growth forest to a military base to a film set. The artists ... explore questions ... about politics, mortality, love, nature, science, order, chaos, and more. Themes of Romance, Protest, Ecology, and Paradox provide a connective thread between profiles ..."--Container.

Through in-depth profiles and dynamic behind-the-scenes footage featuring artists speaking directly about their inspirations and ideas, Season Five shows a broad range of artistic practice, technical innovation, and experimentation, from artists tackling large-scale collaborative projects in hangar-like studios to those working in the quiet of more intimate studio settings.

A definitive biography accompanied by spectacular images of the artist's greatest work.

Biography of the Russian painter who is regarded as an originator of abstract painting is accompanied by images of his greatest work.

An analysis, by means of excerpts from live performances, of Shakespeare's As you like it.

A tribute to the Rohauer Collection, including works by Stan Brakhage and Willard Maas, and others. Films include Geography of the Body; The Potted Psalm; The Cage; Interim; Rebus-Film No. 1; and Pacific 231.

Long before home video there flourished an alternative cinema culture on college campuses and around art theaters, where foreign film fare was often accompanied by a short subject. As reliable 16mm film equipment became available to non-professionals, artists independent of film centers began experimenting with cinema. Serious film societies sprang up in New York, San Francisco, and Los Angeles, holding semi-private screenings of non-commercial artistic films. For years, these pictures have been exhibited only in infrequent museum screenings, if at all. This collection is of mainly American pictures, principally one-man artistic endeavors made from little more than an artist's desire to express feelings with a camera.

Dziga Vertov's Man with a movie camera is considered one of the most innovative and influential films of the silent era. An experimental film which uses numerous cinematic techniques (split screens, multiple superimpositions, variable speeds, et cetera) to present a dawn-to-dusk view of the Soviet Union offers a montage of urban Russian life, showing the people of the city at work and at play, the machines that endlessly whirl to keep the metropolis alive. It is a study of the relation between cinema and reality.

"The dynamic qualities of motion pictures are explored by cameramen and filmmakers through novel experiments in technique and form"--Container.

Collection of short films and experimental films by Naomi Uman.

DVD accompaniment to text that contains 18 videos related to the museum..

"The rhythmic elements of cinema are explored by artists and filmmakers fascinated by the abstract qualities of light"--Container.

Documentary film cinematographer Dean Semler demonstrates how he produced the effect of flickering firelight in Dances with wolves. A replica of the interior of a tipi (or teepee) was constructed for the demonstration. Scenes from Good thing going are used as examples of his technique.

Cinematographer Geoff Burton discusses lighting in small interior spaces and also outdoors. Shows how to achieve color balance in various natural light situations and demonstrates special situations, such as using a single camera mounted on a truck and shooting scenes through a window.

Workshop in lighting for cinematography students. Two professional cinematographers separately light the same script using their own methods. They discuss various lighting techniques and answer questions from students.

Two directors of photography demonstrate their techniques and share their knowledge and philosophy. Both cinematographers work with the same script set in an Australian outback cafe and a comparison of their workshops reveals the differences in the images created by the two men. Müller utilises his impressions of the Australian light that he observed while shooting Till the End of the World. On the other hand, Peter James neatly sidesteps the problems caused by the cyclorama and creates a wider view of the windswept dusty cafe.

Two professional directors of photography are given the same script and set to film. While filming, they explain their approaches, the problems they encounter, and how they overcome them.

"Sasha Waltz' worldwide acclaimed three piece choreographic cycle about the human body is based on the project Dialoge '99/II in the still empty new Jewish Museum Berlin built by Daniel Libeskind. Körper, the first piece of the trilogy, investigates the anatomy and the physical appearance of the human being, relating her dancer's bodies to architecture, science and history. S searches for the origin of life, of eros, and of sensibility. noBody asks about the metaphysical existence of humanity"--Container.

"A Documentary on James Castle that reveals the artist's life and creative process, as told by family members, art historians, curators, artists, collectors, and members of the deaf community. A true case of triumph of the spirit, Castle's inspirational story is one of monumental achievement." www.imdb.com

Catalog of an exhibition at the 51st Venice Biennale presented at the Fondazione Querini Stampalia, Venice, Italy, June 9-Nov. 6, 2005.

Through discourse, debate and experimental theater sketches, women students confront Judy Chicago's radical views of sexuality and feminism in this cinema-verite about the Feminist Art Program at Fresno State College.

"Early directors D.W. Griffith and Lois Weber develop the radical language of cinema narrative through audience-friendly melodramas made for nickelodeon theaters"--container.

"In April 2006 a Getty film crew traveled to the Holy Monastery of Saint Catherine in the Sinai desert. The filmmakers captured images of this ancient site and its traditions, which have drawn pilgrims there from around the world for more than a thousand years. The ... DVD features a film about the monastery and the making of the exhibition Holy Image, Hallowed Ground: Icons from Sinai, including behind-the-scenes interviews and photographs"--Container.

"This anthology and DVD is one of the first collected presentations of the influence on and significance of real-time media in art...the DVD will provide a large selection of examples, ranging from documentations to actual, functioning real-time artworks you may install or run on your home computer." www.amazon.com

"Explores the connection of the religion of Islam with its art and architecture, revealing how artistic giants such as Siniam were led by Islamic movement to craft a glorious aesthetic heritage. Their faith is reflected in the related but distinct achievements throughout the centuries"--Container.

Two short videos about the problems documentary filmmakers encounter in determining whether they are making "fair use" of images or sound in their films, and the costs and inconveniences of obtaining copyright clearance. Copyright can make documentary filmmaking more difficult, hurt the quality of documentaries, and even impose a form of censorship. A new document produced by the Center for Social Media at American University, entitled Documentary filmmakers' statement of best practices in fair use, will give filmmakers guidance and support in fair use. Includes a selection of examples of successful fair use and a special text feature about industry acceptance of the statement.

Combines reenactments and commentary by Botero with examples of his paintings and sculptures.

''Les 1 et 2 juin 1957, treize ans apres sa destruction due au bombardement de 1944, Caen fete la renaissance de son universite. Elle est consideree alors comme 'I'universite la plus moderne de'Euorope.'"--from container

Shows the carved handwork being done by John Stevens Shop in Newport, R.I., one of the few places in the world where letters are cut into stone with hammer and chisel. Members making up the shop include John "Fud" Benson, John Hegnauer, and Brooke Roberts.

"It was an aesthetic movement with an ambitious program: to remove the yoke of Romanticism and Neoclassicism, and to clarify Latin American identity. As this program explains, Modernismo coincided with a surge in narratives growing out of struggles for independence. Viewers will discover valuable insights regarding this cultural wave and its transformation of the novel, lyrical poetry, and non fiction prose"--Case.

"This 3-part program provides the definitive teaching tool for exploring the world of today's black poetry."--www.newsreel.org.

Investigates the development of early Italian Renaissance painting. Discusses works by artists Cimabue, Masaccio, Duccio and Piero della Francesca, and others.

Photographs of Europe from the air.

"Early filmmakers used bizarre sets, fantastic costumes, and magic lantern tricks to illuminate their fantasy films."--Container.

Silent divas of Italian cinema / Guy Maddin -- The geography of a book -- Cultural events and the diva film -- Mater Dolorosa -- Theory and technology -- The shape of time: Élan Vital and Memento Mori -- Laocoön's filmstrips: classicism, Marxism, Vitalism -- Orientalism: Ballets Russes, occultism, Canudo -- Wings of desire: aviation, fashion, circus stunts -- History and analysis -- Acting: prostitution, vertigo, close-up -- Modern women: minor stars and the short film -- Tropes: obsessions and traumas of a genre -- Nino Oxilia: blue blood and satanic rhapsody -- Beyond the femme fatale -- Biographical profiles of actresses.

Traces Greek theater from ancient harvest rites to the golden age of Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides, and Aristophanes. Key scenes from 'Antigone', 'Oedipus Tyrranus', 'Medea', and 'Lysistrata' show how these works remain relevant by exploring the timeless themes of honor, class, gender, sexuality, and politics. Essential concepts such as catharsis, hamartia, and the use of masks and a chorus are discussed.

A collection of his performance in Peking Opera to commemorate his 101st birthday.

Filmed in the subjective language of the unconscious, this early avant-grade film appears as fresh today as when it first appeared.

A collection of films examining contemporary photographers--their work, their points-of-view, their secrets of creation.
v.1: Great tradition of photojournalism, v.2:Renewal of contemporary photography, v.3: Conceptual photography.

"The third film of a five-part art-installation epic -- it's part-zombie movie, part-gangster film." www.imdb.com

This is an instructional, step-by-step video for high school and college students, and is a useful guide about basic makeup techniques that are widely used in theatrical performances.

"This production shows, for the first time in two centuries, Moliere and Lully's comedie-ballet in its original and unabridged 1670-version, with the sung and danced interludes interwoven into the action, recreating the atmosphere of unbridled hilarity, which is the hallmark of comedie-ballet. "--Publisher.

Shows how British painting developed through the eighteenth century. Explores the work of William Hogarth, Sir Joshua Reynolds and his rival Thomas Gainsborough and the paintings of other artists.

Features 60 works of art from Bruce Nauman's career, including early film projections and video installations.