GIMS DVD/Videotape Collection by Genre: Film Anthologies

DESERT VICTORY: Documents the British Eighth Army's smashing victory at El Alamein in Nov., 1942, and its triumphant advance across the desert to Tripoli. The film begins in the days when Field Marshal Rommel's Afrika Korps had driven to within 60 miles of Alexandria and follows the Eighth Army through battle to victory. THE GREAT BATTLE OF THE VOLGA: The Russians' courageous defense of Stalingrad during Germany's Eastern campaign. Created from footage shot by Russian army cinematographers and film confiscated from German prisoners of war. PRELUDE TO WAR: Documentary showing how diplomatic and political snafus made in the wake of World War I planted the seeds of World War II. THE NAZIS STRIKE: A documentary film record of Germany's preparation for war, the conquest of Austria and Czechoslovakia, and the attack upon Poland.

"These exuberant videos bring to life the stories of the most famous African Americans to make it to Paris in the early 20th century, what it did for them--and what they did for France"--Container. Includes Josephine Baker: a most extraordinary life (13 min.) -- Sidney Bechet: the wizard of jazz (15 min.) -- Black writers across the Atlantic (12 min.).

Contains new digital transfers of the complete collection of the pioneering animator's existing films plus the documentary Remembering Winsor McCay by film historian John Canemaker as well as commentary by John Canemaker and a stills gallery from the Canemaker Collection.

"Vienna-born, New York-raised Josef von Sternberg directed some of the most influential, stylish dramas ever to come out of Hollywood. Though best known for his star-making collaborations with Marlene Dietrich, von Sternberg began his career during the final years of the silent era, dazzling audiences and critics with his film's dark visions and innovative cinematography. The titles in this collection, made on the cusp of the sound age, are three of von Sternberg's greatest works, gritty evocations of gangster life (Underworld), the Russian Revolution (The Last Command), and working-class desperation (The Docks of New York) made into shadowy movie spectacle"--Slipcase

"The first ever authorized DVD release of films by Andy Warhol. Features thirteen of his classic silent, black and white film portraits." www.amazon.com

An anthology of films from American film archives. In addition to rare silent-era features, includes landmark independent and avant-garde works, documentaries and newsreels, earliest American movies, pioneering special effects, one-reel adventures and comedies, cartoons and experimental animation, home movies, travel films from the 1910s, working training films from the 1920s, political ads from the 1930's, and other film types invented during the first four decades of the motion picture. Also contains newly recorded musical scores, essays about the archives narraged by Laurence Fishburne, and interactive screens about the films and music.

"Prohibition, abortion, unions, atheism, the vote for women, worker safety, organized crime, loan sharking, race relations, juvenile justice, homelessness, immigration--virtually no social issue was too controversial for movies during their first decades. These issues and more are brought to life through 48 films preserved by George Eastman House, the Library of Congress, the Museum of Modern Art, the National Archives, and the UCLA Film & Television Archive. Treasures III presents the turbulent period when movies helped change America"--Slipcase.

Celebrated is the dynamic, gender-bending, ethnically diverse West that flourished in early movies. Presented is the American West as it was recorded and imagined in the first decades of motion pictures. "Brings together 40 silent and early sound films--narrative shorts and features, documentaries, promotional films, newsreel stories, and travelogues--showcasing the American West as it was recorded and imagined from 1898 to 1938." -- Booklet, p. viii.

Focusing on the work of French filmmaker Jean Painlevé, this collection features twenty-three Painlevé nature films; a 2005 performance of the ninety-minute score, The sounds of science, written in 2001 by members of the rock group Yo La Tengo to accompany eight of Painlevé's films; an interview with Yo La Tengo; and the eight-part 1988 French television series, Jean Painlevé au fil de ses films, which explores Painlevé's life and work through interviews with the filmmaker.

Disc one:
Hyas and Stenorhynchus Marine Crustaceans (1927) (10 min.) -- Sea Urchins (1954) (11 min.) -- How Some Jellyfish Are Born (1960) (14 min.) -- Liquid Crystals (1978) (6 min.) -- The Sea Horse (1933) (14 min.) -- The Love Life of the Octopus (1967) (14 min.) -- Shrimp Stories (1964) (10 min.) -- Acera or The Witches Dance (1972) (13 min.) -- The Vampire (1945) (9 min.) -- Freshwater Assassins (1947) (24 min.) -- Sea Ballerinas (Brittle stars and feather stars) (1956) (13 min.) -- Diatoms (1968, 17 min.) -- Pigeons in the Square (1986) (27 min.) -- The Sounds of Science -- Yo La Tengo Interview (2009) (10 min.).

Disc two:
Early popular silent films La pieuvre = The octopus (1927) (13 min.) -- Sea Urchins (1928) (10 min.) -- The Daphnia (1928) (9 min.) -- The Stickleback's Egg (1925) (26 min.) -- Experimental Treatment of the Hemorrhage in a Dog with Dr. Normet's serum Citrate (1930) (4 min.) -- The Fourth Dimension (1936) (10 min.) -- The Struggle for Survival (1937) (14 min.) -- Voyage to the Sky (1937) (11 min.) -- Similarities Between Length and Speed (1937) (10 min.) -- Bluebeard 1995 (1935-38) (13 min.)

Disc three:
Jean Painlevé Through His Films (1988) (169 min.).

Collection of short films nominated for the 2003 75th Annual Academy Awards. Includes an extra feature on how to submit a short film to the Academy.

Based on the plays by George Bernard Shaw. Arms and the man, The devil's disciple, Mrs. Warren's profession, Pygmalion, Heartbreak house,The Millionairess.

Each disc contains 10 animated or live action films based on Hoshi Shin'ichi's short stories.

Eighteen of the most popular films starring Shirley Temple in her child star years. Includes: Vol. 1. Baby, take a bow (1934 / ca. 74 min.) -- The blue bird (Walter Lang, dir.; 1940 / ca. 83 min.) -- Bright eyes (1934 / ca. 84 min.) -- Captain January (1936 / ca. 76 min.) -- Curly top (1935 / ca. 76 min.) -- Dimples (1936 / ca. 78 min.). Vol. 2. Heidi (1937 / ca. 86 min.) -- Just around the corner (1938 / ca. 70 min.) -- The little colonel (1935 / ca. 81 min.) -- Little Miss Broadway (1938 / ca. 72 min.) -- The little princess (1939 / ca. 93 min.) -- The littlest Rebel (1935 / ca. 73 min.). Vol. 3. Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm (1938 / ca. 80 min.) -- Stand up and cheer! (1934 / ca. 69 min.) -- Stowaway (1936 / ca. 87 min.) -- Susannah of the Mounties (1939 / ca. 79 min.) -- Wee Willie Winkie (John Ford, dir. : 1937 / ca. 100 min.) -- Young people (1940 / ca. 79 min.)

A compilation of short films that includes: Schwarzfahrer = Black rider / Pepe Danquart (12 min.) -- The big story / Tim Watts, David Stoten (5 min.) -- Some folks call it a sling blade / George Hickenlooper (25 min.) -- Shape without form / Stephen Berkman (4 min.) -- Mr. Resistor / Mark Gustafson (8 min.) -- This unfamiliar place / Eva Ilona Brzeski (10 min.) -- Baraka / Ron Fricke (12 min.) -- Henry Rollins: Easter Sunday in NYC / Albert Watson (11 min.) Michael Apted / Daniel Peacock (7 min.).

A compilation of Short films that includes: La jetée / un photo-roman de Chris Marker. 1962 (29:03) -- Café bar / story design, animation, direction, Alison De Vere. 1974 (5:55) -- Depth solitude = Dypets ensomhet / directed by Joachim Solum and Thomas Lien. 1995 (7:26) -- A guy walks into a bar / directed by Carmen Elly. c1997 (27:30) -- Bride of Resistor / director/writer, Mark Gustafson. 1997 (6:04) -- The eye like a strange balloon / by Guy Maddin. c1995 (5:11) -- Excerpts from Vincent, the junkie chronicles : a work in progress / documentary film by Michael Failla. 1998 (9:05) -- Sound bit -- George Hickenlooper interview / produced by Short Cinema Journal ; Jamey Volk (5:40) -- Big brass ring / directed by George Hickenlooper. 1997 (6:15) -- Clips from the feature film Big brass ring. 1999 (6:14) -- Junk drawer. Chez seefood ; What is sex? ; Rochambeau ; Intro movie.

A compilation of short films: Tunnel of love / Robert Milton Wallace -- Kom / Marianne Olsen Ulrichsen -- Anticipating Sara / Seth Edelstein -- Lily and Jim / Don Hertzfeldt -- Hisao / Masahiro Sugano -- Tale about the cat and the moon / Pedro Serrazina -- The last supper / Jeremy Boxer -- T.R.A.N.S.I.T. / Piet Kroon -- Pulp: this is hardcore / Doug Nichol.

A compilation of short films including: Silent rain in the ninth / Jacob Rosenberg (1998, b&w, 19 min.) -- Multi-facial / Vin Diesel (1994, col., 20 min.) -- Buy my film / John Schnall (1995, col., 3 min.) -- That strange person / Eileen O'Meara (1998, col., 4 min. 30 sec.) -- The job / A.W. Feidler (1996, col., 10 min.) -- Erik Friedlander : Topaz / Bret Stern (1998, col. and b&w, 7 min.).

A compilation of short films including: The Bad plant / Amy Winfrey (1999, col., 3 min. 30 sec.) -- Blue city / David Birdsell (1996, col., 12 min. 30 sec.) -- Billy's balloon / Don Hertzfeldt (1998, col., 5 min. 30 sec.) -- El Banquete / Everardo Valerio Gout (1997, 19 min. 30 sec.) -- Bovine vendetta / Bob Judd (1997, col., 2 min. 30 sec.) -- Midnight dance / John McCloskey (1996, col., 6 min. 30 sec.) -- Franky goes to Holllywood / Brendan Kelly (1999, col., 12 min.) -- Straffe koffie = Black coffee / Dirk Beliën (1997, col., 13 min.) -- 60 channels : "Beyond the rhythm" / Joel Bajrech (1999?, col., 7 min. 30 sec.).

A compilation of short films including: More / Mark Osborne (1998, col., 6 min.) -- Zoltar from Zoran / Erik Paesel (1998, col., 15 min.) -- The Bar Channel / Frank Chindamo (1998, col., 3 min.) -- Le Lion et l'agneau = The lion & the lamb / Luc Beauchamp (1995, col. and b&w, 8 min.) -- Image of Korea / Young Man Kang (1999?, col., 2 min.) -- Amplified man / Jonathon Stearns (1999, col., 9 min.) -- Lars from 1-10 / Sophie Fiennes (1998, col., 10 min.) -- Sam L. Grogg on utopia / Jonathon Stearns (1999, col., 4 min.) -- Superstition / Everardo & Leopoldo Gout (1999?, col., 8 min.).

Shorts! is a diverse group of award-winning short films showcased at film festivals all over the globe. Featuring some of the best shorts seen at the Sundance Film Festival, Aspen ShortsFest, Starz Denver International Film Festival, Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival, Tribeca Film Festival and more.

Shorts! is a diverse group of award-winning short films showcased at film festivals all over the globe. Featuring some of the best shorts seen at the Sundance Film Festival, Aspen ShortsFest, Starz Denver International Film Festival, Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival, Tribeca Film Festival and more.

Idol dancer and five early selected shorts directed by Griffith. Idol dancer: A religious zealot and his nephew are thrown together on a South Seas Island with an alcoholic beach comber and a native dancer. A battle to see who will "civilize" whom ensues.

A rare glimpse of early Japanese anime and prewar Japanese culture, The roots of Japanese anime features the masterworks of such pioneers of Japanese animation as Noburo Ofuji, Yasuji Murata, and Kenzo Masaoka, in addition to Mitsuyo Seo's Momotaro's sea eagle, the notorious war cartoon billed as Japan's first feature anime.

A collection of classic short films, plus a collection of "footnotes" that includes commentaries, interviews, alternative version, and unrealized projects.

Experience these masterpieces of storytelling. With revolutionary animation, unforgettable music and characters you love, these dazzling short films have changed the face of animation and entertainment and are sure to delight people of all ages.

Contains Polish short films since 1989.

Contents of DVD 1: Wyścig = The race / dir. Marek Serafński, animation. 1989 (6 min.) -- Nienormalni = The Abnormal / dir. Jacek Bławut, documentary. 1990 (78 min.) -- Franz Karka / dir. Piotr Dumala, animation. 1991 (16 min.) -- Dim. / dir. Marek Skrobecki, animation. 1992 (10 min) -- 89 mm od Europy = 89 mm from Europe / dir. Marcel Łoziński, documentary. 1993 (12 min.) -- Smród = Stench / dir. Artur Urbański, fiction. 1994 (16 min.) -- Pańcia = Missy / dir. Iwona Siekierzyńska, fiction. 1995 (14 min.) -- Fryzjer = Hairdresser / dir. Robert Sowa, animation. 1996 (5 min.) -- Cisza = Silence / dir. Malgorzata Szumowska, documentary. 1997 (12 min.) -- Jakub = Jacob / dir. Adam Guziński, fiction 1998 (16 min.).

Contents of DVD 2: Takiego pięknego syna urodziłam = Such a nice boy I gave birth to / dir. Marcin Koszałka, documentary. 1999 (15 min.) -- Strojenie instrumentów = Tuning the instruments / dir. Jerzy Kucia, animation. 2000 (15 min.) -- Męska Sprawa = A man thing / dir. Sławomir Fabicki, fiction. 2001 (25 min.) -- Katedra = Cathedral / dir. Tomasz Bagiński, animation 2002 (7 min.) -- Bar na Viktorii = A bar at Victoria Station / dir. Leszek Dawid, documentary. 2003 (55 min.) -- Telefono / dir. Marcin Wrona, fiction. 2004 (3 min.) -- Melodramat = Melodrama / dir. Filip Marczewski, fiction 2005 (19 min.) -- Pod opieką̨ = Taking care / dir. Jan Wagner, documentary. 2006 (14 min.) -- Po tamtej stronie = Beyond the wall / dir. Vita Želakevičiuté, documentary. 2007 (20 min.) -- Cielaczek = The calf / dir. Marek Marlikowski, documentary. 2008 (4 min.) -- Tam gozie słońce się nie spieszy = Where the sun doesn't rush / dir. Matej Bobrik, documentary. 2009 (18 min.).

Six previously unreleased short films and videos. From the quiet and thoughtful to the loud and ridiculous, this arresting collection of short work by Hal Hartley reveals the tireless experimentation, curiosity, and playfulness that lies behind his many feature films.

An anthology of short films by director Hal Hartley.

Collectible box set containing 5 films (all with new commentaries) and a bonus disc with new interviews with Frank Capra, Jr., film historians, and others, archival footage, and a documentary.

A collection of short animated films featuring Felix the Cat, Bobby Bumps, and others.

"Preston Sturges was the first prominent screenwriter to direct his own script. He went on an uparalleled creative streak that brought to the screen some of the most beloved films of all time. This collection pays tribute to seven of his finest and funniest films, staring cinema's most illustrious screen stars."

Twenty-five short films selected from the avant garde movement of the 1920's and 1930's.

A tribute to the Rohauer Collection, including works by Stan Brakhage and Willard Maas, and others. Films include Geography of the Body; The Potted Psalm; The Cage; Interim; Rebus-Film No. 1; and Pacific 231.

Bauer created macabre masterpieces, dramas darkly obsessed with doomed love and death, astonishing for graceful camera movements, risque themes and opulent sets. The films were buried in Soviet archives for decades until the fall of the Iron Curtain. Twilight of a woman's soul (1913, 49 min.) -- After death (1915, 46 min.) -- The dying swan (1916, 49 min.).

Disc 1: The Merchant of Virtue
Disc 2: The Millionairess; Talking Heads: Bed Among the Lentils
Disc 3: Suddenly Last Summer

A collection of animated short films by Soviet-era directors and artists. Story of one crime / Fyodor Khitruk -- Man in the frame / Fyodor Khitruk -- My green crocodile / Vadim Kurchevsky -- There lived Kozyavin / Andrei Khrjanovsky -- Mountain of dinosaurs / Rasa Strautmane -- Passion of spies / Yefim Gamburg -- Glass harmonica / Andrei Khrjanovsky -- Ball of wool / Nikolai Serebryakov -- Singing teacher / Anatoly Petrov -- Film film film / Fyodor Khitruk.

A collection of animated short films by Soviet-era directors and artists. Seasons / Ivan Ivanov-Vano -- Ballerina on the boat / Lev Atamanov -- Armoire / Andrei Khrjanovsky -- Battle at Kerzhenets / Ivan Ivanov-Vano & Yuri Norstein -- Butterfly / Andrei Khrjanovsky -- Island / Fyodor Khitruk -- Fox and rabbit / Yuri Norstein -- Heron and crane / Yuri Norstein -- Hedgehog in the fog / Yuri Norstein -- Crane feathers / Ideya Garanina -- Firing range / Anatoly Petrov -- Contact / Vladimir Tarasov.

A collection of animated short films by Soviet-era directors and artists. Tale of tales / Yuri Norstein -- Hunt / Eduard Nazarov -- Last hunt / Alexander Karavayev -- There once was a dog / Eduard Nazarov -- Travels of an ant / Eduard Nazarov -- Lion and ox / Fyodor Khitruk -- Wolf and calf / Mikhail Kamenetsky -- Cabaret / Ideya Garanina -- Old stair / Alexander Gorlenko -- King's sandwich / Andrei Khrjanovsky -- About Sidorov Vova / Eduard Nazarov.

A collection of animated short films by Soviet-era directors and artists. Door / Nina Shorina -- Boy is a boy / Natasha Golovanova -- Liberated Don Quixote / Vadim Kurchevsky -- Martinko / Eduard Nazarov -- Big underground ball / Stanislav Sokolov -- Cat and clown / Natasha Golovanova -- Dream / Nina Shorina -- Kele / Mikhail Aldashin & Peep Pedmanson -- Alter ego / Nina Shorina -- Girlfriend / Yelena Gavrilko -- Croak x croak / Yelena Fedorova -- Cat and company / Alexander Guriev.

The films of Maya Deren: Meshes of the Afternoon, At Land, A Study in Choreography for Camera, Ritual in Transfigured Time, Meditation on Violence, and The Very Eye of Night

A collection of films by a pioneer of Quebec cinema, who revolutionized film-making by freeing it from technical constraints to bring it closer to life.


DVD 1:
1958 Les Raquetteurs, 15 min.; 1961 La Lutte, 28 min.; 1962 Quebec-USA ou l'invasion pacifique, 28 min.; 1963 Pour la suite du monde, 105 min.
DVD 2:
1962 Les enfants du silence, 24 min.; 1964 Le temps perdu, 27 min.; 1965 Entre la mer et l'eau douce, 85 min.
DVD 3:
1968 Les enfants de Neant, 44 min.; 1969 Eloge du chiac, 27 min.; 1971 L'Acadie l'Acdie?!?, 118 min.
DVD 4:
1973 Le bras de levier et la riviere, 26 min.; 1974 Les Ordres, 107 min.
DVD 5 Bonus Features:
2005 Le cheval de Troie de l'esthetique, 105 min.; 2005 Le direct avant la lettre, 50 min.

An anthology of films from American film archives. In addition to rare silent-era features, includes cartoons and animation, documentaries and newsreels, earliest American movies, pioneering sound and color experiments, serial episodes, trailers for lost films, advertisements, avant-garde shorts, ethnographic footage, films of ethnic communities, and other film types invented during the first four decades of the motion picture. Contains 50 films followed by six previews for lost features and serials. Also contains newly recorded musical scores and over 500 interactive screens about the films and music.

An anthology of films from American film archives. In addition to rare silent-era features, includes cartoons and animation, documentaries and newsreels, earliest American movies, pioneering sound and color experiments, serial episodes, trailers for lost films, advertisements, avant-garde shorts, ethnographic footage, films of ethnic communities, and other film types invented during the first four decades of the motion picture. Contains 50 films followed by six previews for lost features and serials. Also contains newly recorded musical scores and over 500 interactive screens about the films and music.

An anthology of films from American film archives. In addition to rare silent-era features, includes cartoons and animation, documentaries and newsreels, earliest American movies, pioneering sound and color experiments, serial episodes, trailers for lost films, advertisements, avant-garde shorts, ethnographic footage, films of ethnic communities, and other film types invented during the first four decades of the motion picture. Contains 50 films followed by six previews for lost features and serials. Also contains newly recorded musical scores and over 500 interactive screens about the films and music.

The genesis of the motion picture medium is recreated in this collection of the cinema's formative works. More than crucial historical artifacts, these films reveal the foundation from which the styles and stories of the contemporary cinema would later arise.

The genesis of the motion picture medium is recreated in this collection of the cinema's formative works. More than crucial historical artifacts, these films reveal the foundation from which the styles and stories of the contemporary cinema would later arise.

The genesis of the motion picture medium is recreated in this collection of the cinema's formative works. More than crucial historical artifacts, these films reveal the foundation from which the styles and stories of the contemporary cinema would later arise.

The genesis of the motion picture medium is recreated in this collection of the cinema's formative works. More than crucial historical artifacts, these films reveal the foundation from which the styles and stories of the contemporary cinema would later arise.

The genesis of the motion picture medium is recreated in this collection of the cinema's formative works. More than crucial historical artifacts, these films reveal the foundation from which the styles and stories of the contemporary cinema would later arise.

A compilation of the very earliest films from the first projections of moving images to the advent of the feature film, an area of film history often underseen, underappreciated and understudied. Includes films from Pathe frénes, Vitagraph Co., Biograph Co., and Keystone Film Co. Includes films by Thomas Edison, Louis Lumière, Edwin S. Porter, George Méliès, Charles Pathé, Ferdinand Zecca, Max Linder, D.W. Griffith, and Henry Lehrman.

v. 1. A chump at Oxford and related shorts (A chump at Oxford ; From soup to nuts ; Another fine mess) -- v. 2. Somene's ailing : classic shorts (County hospital ; Them thar hills ; Tit for tat ; Perfect day ; They go boom! ; Leave 'em laughing) -- v. 3. Way out West plus shorts featuring james Finlayson (Way out West ; One good turn ; Thicker than water) -- v. 4. Ollie and matrimony : classic shorts (Beau hunks ; Our wife ; Helpmates ; Me and my pal) -- v. 5. Our relations and 'dual roles' shorts (Our relations ; Brats ; Twice two) -- v. 6. Murder in the air : classic shorts (The Laurel-Hardy murder case ; Noche de duendes ; Berth marks ; Oliver the eight) -- v. 7. Block-heads and related shorts (Block-heads ; Unaccustomed as we are ; With love and hisses ; Should married men go home) -- v. 8. Blackmail : classic shorts (Chickens come home ; Politiquerias ; Come clean ; Love 'em and weep ; Sugar daddies ; Early to bed) -- v. 9. The Bohemian girl and related shorts (The Bohemian girl ; On the loose ; That's my wife ; Along came Auntie) -- v. 10. Show! : classic shorts (Laughing gravy ; Les carottiers ; The fixer-uppers ; Slipping wives) -- v. 11. Saps at sea and 'music' shorts (Saps at sea ; You're darn tootin' ' Below zero ; Tiembla y titubea) -- v. 12. L&H and the law (Scram! ; Night owls ; Ladrones ; The second hundred years ; Call of the cuckoo ; Duck soup ; Forty-five minutes from Hollywood ; Big business) -- v. 13. Sons of the desert and related shorts (Sons of the Desert ; We faw down ; Their purple moment ; On the wrong trek) -- v. 14. A job to do : classic shorts (Busy bodies ; Double whoopee ; Hog wild ; Dirty work ; The finishing touch ; The music box ; Hats off) -- v. 15. Pack up your troubles and related 'adopt-a-child' shorts (Pack up your troubles ; Their first mistake ; Putting pants on Philip) -- v. 16. Maritime adventures : classic shorts (The live ghost ; Sailors beware! ; Two tars ; Men o'war ; Any old port! ; Why girls love sailors ; Towed in a hole) -- v. 17. Swiss miss and 'animal' shorts (Swiss miss ; The chimp ; Flying elephants) -- v. 18. Married life and Anita Garvin (Blotto ; La vida nocturna ; Be big ; Los Calaveras) -- v. 19. Pardon us and related shorts (Pardon us ; The hoose-gow ; The battle of the century) -- v. 20. More brushes with the law : classic shorts (Going bye-bye! ; Do detectives think? ; Habeas corpus ; Angora love ; Bacon grabbers ; The midnight patrol ; Liberty ; Wrong again) -- v. 21. The original brats & more Hal Roach classics (Brats ; Hinter Schloss und Riegel ; Thundering fleas ; Fluttering hearts ; Prudence ; Laurel & Hardy : a tribute to the boys)

A collection of six films (and one bonus film) by one of the greatest figures in the celebrated British Documentary Film Movement. He is most remembered for the way his work reflects the concerns and conditions of World War II era in the United Kingdom. In these pictures, Jennings's impressive aesthetic arsenal helped to expand the scope and vocabulary of documentary films.

Published on the occasion of the exhibition held at the Glassell School of Art, Sept. 12-Nov. 30, 2003. Accompanying DVD has title on label: Luca Buvoli: clips from selected animated films, 1994-2001.

A look at the birth of the motion picture through 85 of the more than 1,500 films made by the Lumière Brothers between 1895 and 1897. These films include views of Moscow, New York, Paris, Saigon, and Jerusalem; vignettes of life in France; and comedy shorts.

Highlights include home movie footage of Keaton in Paris and on the set, scenes from a never-completed Cinemascope musical, excerpts from the rare TV series "Life with Buster Keaton", his first dramatic role, two 1930s shorts, commercials, excerpts from his appearance TV and a newly-restored 1921 short. Film historian John Bengtson has prepared an interactive tour of locations where Keaton's films were shot. An extensive photo gallery reveals family snapshots, images from Keaton's vaudeville years, fascinating behind-the-scenes stills and more.

Killer of sheep: An African-American slaughterhouse worker searches for tiny moments of beauty in his predominantly bleak life. My brother's wedding: A young African-American man navigates his conflicting obligations while trying to figure out what he really wants in life.

Fifty-five vintage Japanese animated short films, originally produced between 1928-1950.

Fifty-five vintage Japanese animated short films, originally produced between 1928-1950.

Fifty-five vintage Japanese animated short films, originally produced between 1928-1950.

Fifty-five vintage Japanese animated short films, originally produced between 1928-1950.

Whirlpool of fate: after the suspicious death of her father a young girl runs away from her brutal uncle and joins a gypsy camp. Nana: A women rises from poverty to become a dance hall queen and courtesan in 1860s Paris, destroying the lives of the men who fall in love with her. Charleston: shows the journey of a man in blackface to a post-Apocalyptic Paris, where he meets a girl who teaches him the Charleston, and they leave together in his spaceship. The little match girl: the visions seen by a poor match seller as she lights her matches one by one to keep from freezing to death. La Marseillaise: a dramatization of the French Revolution, from the period immediately preceeding it in 1789 up to the first bloody confrontation. The doctor's horrible experiment: experimental fantasy about a Jekyll/Hyde-type psychiatrist/lunatic creating havoc in 1950s Paris. The elusive corporal: set in a German P.O.W. camp in 1940, this is the story of a French corporal who is determined to escape to return to Paris and fight once more.

Award winning short films from France, Denmark, Korea, Belgium, China, Germany, Holland, Australia, Mexico and Hungary.

Kite: A music-driven computer-animated film inspired by the style of artist Wiliam Turner. Portrait: Jane Campion and the portrait of a lady: an unusually extensive and intimate study of a filmmaker at work. First person singular: I.M. Pei: World-renowned architect I.M. Pei recommends getting inspired by travel. Kaal: A humble shoemaker practices his trade on the streets of Bombay. Gabriël: Surrounded by nuns, a little boy believes he's a real angel. Irish actors: Brosnan and Byrne: In candid interviews, Pierce Brosnan and Gabriel Byrne talk about their identitites as Irish actors. Gorky's zygotic mynci: Meet the Welsh band with the wacky name.

The third collection of international short films including documentaries, an interview, animation, fiction and music.

Digitally remastered, restored, and rescored, this collection contains fifteen feature films including Satety Last!, ten shorts, and a bonus disc containing a treasure chest of extras including Harold Lloyd's home movies, interviews, featurettes, and much more. Vol. 1, disc 1: Safety last! (1923, 73 min.) ; An Eastern Westerner (1920, 24 min.) ; Ask father (1919, 13 min.) ; Girl shy (1924, 80 min.) ; From hand to mouth (1920, 80 min.) ; extras -- Vol. 1, disc 2, side A: Cat's paw (1934, 102 min.) ; Milky way (1936, 88 min.) ; extras -- Vol. 1, disc 2, side B: Why worry? (1923, 63 min.) ; extras -- Vol. 2, disc 1: Kid brother (1927, 82 min.) ; Bumping into Broadway (1919, 26 min.) ; The freshman (1925, 76 min.) ; Billy Blazes, Esq. (1919, 13 min.) ; extras -- Vol. 2, disc 2, side A: Dr. Jack (1922, 60 min.) ; Feet first (1930, 91 min.) ; extras -- Vol. 2, disc 2, side B: Grandma's boy (1922, 56 min.) ; Now or never (1921, 36 min.) ; High and dizzy (1920, 26 min.) ; extras -- Vol. 3, disc 1: Speedy (1928, 86 min.) ; Never weaken (1921, 29 min.) ; Haunted spooks (1920, 25 min.) ; Hot water (1924, 60 min.) ; extras -- Vol. 3, disc 2, side A: Movie crazy (1932, 96 min.) ; Get out and get under (1920, 25 min.) ; For heaven's sake (1926, 58 min.) ; extras -- Vol. 3, disc 2, side B: Number please? (1920, 25 min.) ; A sailor-made man (1921, 47 min.) ; Among those present (1921, 35 min.) ; I do (1921, 25 min.) ; extras -- Bonus disc.

A compilation of five films dealing with issues like urban sprawl, city planning, urban policy and urban problems.

The changing city (1963 : 17 min.) --
No time for ugliness (1965 : 24 min.) --
Birth of a city (1950's : 15 min.) --
Cities : how they grow (1950's : 9 min.) --
Story of a city : New York (1946 : 20 min.)

Sudden fear (1952) -- The long night (1947) -- Hangmen also die (1943) -- Railroaded (1947) -- Behind locked doors (1948)

Buckdancer features Ed Young from Panola County, Mississippi buck dancing and playing the cane fife. Pizza pizza daddy-o shows African American girls playing singing games in a Los Angeles school playground. Georgia Sea Island Singers features the musical group performing spirituals from Saint Simons Island, Georgia. Say, old man, can you play the fiddle? features master fiddler Earl Collins.

Six short films by underground filmmaker Kenneth Anger, originally produced from 1964-2002.

The short films of Marjorie Keller: She/va, Objection, Misconception, Ancient Parts/Foreign Parts, and Daughters of Chaos

In the early 1930's, before Hollywood began enforcing a self-imposed Production Code, many films allowed for extraordinary frankness including nudity, adultery and prostitution. In this restored and remastered three-movie collection, three daring young actresses are featured in racy, riveting star vehicles. In this restored and remastered three-movie collection, three daring young actresses are featured in racy, riveting star vehicles. Jean Harlow is a red-headed secretary who hooks the company's married boss, while carrying on with chauffeur Charles Boyer. A young soldier is forced to give up Mae Clarke when his well-to-do family learns she's a prostitute, in Waterloo Bridge. Finally baby-faced Barbara Stanwyck sleeps her way up the corporate ladder in a New York bank, not caring who gets hurt.

"This extraordinary DVD premiere of four rare films by acclaimed Georgian filmmaker Otar Iosseliani takes us on a whimsical voyage of self-discovery. Before his self-exile to direct films in France, Iosseliani's work was frequently banned, shelved, or restricted by Soviet authorities. The early films on this DVD include APRIL, the film picked to showcase Iosseliani’s talent at this year’s Cannes. Iosseliani’s contemporary fables of modern life and traditional values have been compared to the classic comedies of French master Jacques Tati. Shrewdly whimsical and filmed with a poetic casualness, Iosseliani’s universe is one of joyous pessimism." www.amazon.com

Frankenstein: Dr. Frankenstein creates a true monster from dead human parts, but it gets out of control and into trouble.
Bride of Frankenstein: Dr. Frankenstein agrees to help create a new creature, a woman, to be the companion of the monster.
Son of Frankenstein: Wolf Frankenstein, the doctor's son, returns with his wife to claim his inheritance.
Ghost of Frankenstein: Ygor resurrects Frankenstein's monster and brings him to the original doctor's son, Ludwig, for help.
House of Frankenstein: Dracula, the Wolf Man and the Frankenstein monster exact revenge upon their many enemies.

A compilation of short works by some of the brightest independent filmmakers working today.

The man without a head = L'homme sans tête / Juan Solanas (18 min.) -- Wasp / Andrea Arnold (23 min.) -- Doodlebug / Christopher Nolan (3 min.) -- World of glory = Härlig är jorden / Roy Andersson (16 min.) -- Je t'aime John Wayne / Toby MacDonald (10 min.) -- Gasman / Lynne Ramsay (14 min.) -- Jabberwocky / Jan Svankmajer (13 min.) -- Fierrot le pou / Mathieu Kassovitz (8 min.) -- Rabbit / Run Wrake (8 min.) -- Copy shop / Virgil Widrich (12 min.) -- Boy & bicycle / Ridley Scott (27 min.) -- Nocturne / Lars von Trier (8 min.) -- Before dawn / Balint Kenyeres (13 min.) -- Election night = Valgaften / Anders Thomas Jensen (11 min.) -- Six shooter / Martin McDonagh (27 min.) -- The opening day of close-up = Il giorno della prima di close up / Nanni Moretti (7 min.).

Presents 10 short films, each about one hour long, inspired by the Ten Commandments. Each story corresponds to a commandment and centers on different residents of the same modern Warsaw apartment complex.

"Day you love me" -- A man relinquishes his family fortune to live in poverty with the woman he loves. Many years later, now a widower and a famous singer, his daughter's boyfriend is reliving his plight. But he is determined to do all he can do to prevent the groom's father from interfering. "Going downhill" -- A student runs away to Europe with a woman. It doesn't take him long to discover that she frequently deceives him and spends his money carelessly. Even then, he can't seem to leave her, something stronger than love seems to keep them together. "Tango Bar" -- An honest man is tormented by the discovery that the woman he loves is a professional thief. Moved by his love, she gives up her life of crime to be with him. But he cannot believe in her ever again. "Tango in Broadway" -- With the money of a millionaire uncle, Alberto Bazan creates an artists' agency to help his fellow Latin American artists.

A laugh-filled time capsule of the brightest lights of vaudeville, showcasing the early works of such legends as Jack Benny, Bing Crosby, Burns and Allen, and more. Also provides a fascinating record of stage legends fading into memory.

An 8-disc set of Chaplin's greatest films: Modern Times, The Great Dictator, The Gold Rush and Limelight. Each film comes with a second disc featuring documentaries and rarely seen footage.

Features Charlie in seven of his best short films: A day's pleasure -- Sunnyside -- The idle class -- Pay day -- A Dog's life -- Shoulder arms -- The Pilgrim.

Collector's edition contains 9 classic Chaplin films. Digitally remastered and restored with the addition of a new piano score. Features include exclusive Chaplin biography with little known facts about the artist.

Collector's edition contains 9 classic Chaplin films. Digitally remastered and restored with the addition of a new piano score. Features include exclusive Chaplin biography with little known facts about the artist.

Collector's edition contains 9 classic Chaplin films. Digitally remastered and restored with the addition of a new piano score. Features include exclusive Chaplin biography with little known facts about the artist.

Chaplin's Essanay comedies: Disc 1. (Essanay comedies v. 1). His new job (Feb. 1, 1915) ; A night out (Feb. 15, 1915) ; The champion (Mar. 11, 1915) ; In the park (Mar. 18, 1915) ; A Jitney elopement (Apr. 1, 1915) -- Disc 2. (Essanay comedies v. 2). The tramp (Apr. 11, 1915) ; By the sea (Apr. 29, 1915) ; Work (June 21, 1915) ; A woman (July 12, 1915) ; The bank (Aug. 9, 1915) ; His regeneration (Apr. 29, 1915) -- Disc 3. (Essanay comedies v. 3). Shanghaied (Oct. 4, 1915) ; A night in the show (Nov. 20, 1915) ; Police (Oct. 4, 1915) ; Burlesque on 'Carmen' (Dec. 9, 1915) ; Triple trouble (Apr. 29, 1918) --Disc 4. (Chaplin Mutuals v. 1). The immigrant (June 1917) ; The adventurer (Oct. 1917) ; The cure (April 1917) ; Easy street (Jan. 1917) -- Disc 5. (Chaplin Mutuals v. 2). The count (Sept. 1916) ; The vagabond (July 1916) ; The fireman (June 1916) ; Behind the screen (Nov. 1916) -- Disc. 6. (Chaplin Mutuals v. 3). One A.M. (Aug. 1916) ; The pawnshop (Oct. 1916) ; The floorwalker (May 1916) ; The rink (Dec. 1916)--Disc. 7. Chaplin's Goliath : in search of Scotland's forgotten star.

The lunch date (1989, 11 min., b&w) / a film by Adam Davidson -- Five feet high and rising (1999, 29 min., col.) / photography, script and direction, Peter Sollett -- Freiheit (1966, 3 min., tinted b&w) / a film by [George] Lucas -- [Daybreak express] (1958, 5 min., col.) / by D.A. Pennebaker -- Vincent (1982, 6 min., b&w) written, designed and directed by Tim Burton -- Terminal Bar : photographs by Sheldon Nadelman (2002, 22 min., col.) a film by Stefan Nadelman -- Terry Tate, office linebacker (2003, 4 min., col.) / written and directed by Rawson Marshall Thurber -- Necrology (1969, 12 min., b&w) / Standish D. Lawder -- The discipline of D.E. (1982, 13 min., b&w) / [presented by] Gus Van Sant -- The wraith of Cobble Hill (2006, 15 min., b&w) / written and directed by Adam Parrish King -- George Lucas in love (1999, 8 min., col.) / directed by Joe Nussbaum -- Meshes of the afternoon (1943, 15 min., b&w) / a film by Maya Deren and Alexander Hamid -- Carmen (1970, 18 min., col.) written and directed by Alexander Payne -- Feelings (1984, 3 min., b&w) / a film by Todd Solondz -- Paperboys (2001, 41 min., col.) directed by Mike Mills -- [Screen test : Helmut] (1964, 5 min., b&w) / [Andy Warhol].

Disc 01. Wasp (c2003, 24 min., col., in English) / Filmfour and UK Film Council present ; a Cowboy Films production ; director of photography, Robbie Ryan ; editor, Nicolas Chaudeurge ; producer, Natasha Marsh ; writer & director, Angela Arnold -- Simpan = Judgement (1999, 26 min., col., in Korean) / production, Cine City, Studio Box! ; written, directed and produced by Park Chanwook ; director of photography, Park Hyunchui ; film editor, Kim Sangbum ; music composed by Choi Hyuck -- Sikumi = On the ice (c2007, 15 min., col., in Inupiat) / Kiuguya Productions presents ; written & directed by Andrew Okpeaha MacLean ; produced by Cara Marcous ; director of photography, Cary Fukunaga ; score, Andres Martinez -- Doña Lupe (1984, 33 min., col., in Spanish) / Necropia, Centro de Cine y Critica de Occidente y Kinam presentan ; editor, Luis Kelly ; director de fotografia, Jose A. Ascencio ; producida, escrita y dirigida por Guillermo del Toro ; musica original, Rodrigo A. Patiño, Jorge Estrada -- La vieille dame et les pigeons (c1996, 22 min., col., in English) / Productions Pascal Blaus et Les Armateurs avec Club d'investissement Média présentent ; une production de Productions Django Inc., Les Armateurs et Odec Kid Cartoons ; producteurs, Bernard Lajoie, Didier Brunner ; un film de Sylvain Chomet ; scénario original, Sylvain Chomet ; musique originale, Jean Corti ; montage image, Héléne Girard, Chantal Colibert -- Panya shugeki = Attack on the bakery (1982, 17 min., col., in Japanese) / [directed by Naoto Yamakawa] -- Two cars, one night (c2003, 12 min., b&w, in English) / Defender Films Limited with Blueskin Films Ltd. [present] ; written and directed by Taika Waititi ; producers, Ainsley Gardiner, Catherine Fitzgerald ; director of photography, Adam Clark ; editor, Owen Ferrier Kerr ; composer, Craig Sengelow -- Sonata dlya Gitlera = Die Sonate fúr Hitler (1989, 10 min., col., silent with musical accompaniment) / [directed by Alexander Sokurov].
Disc 02. My Dad is 100 years old (c2005, 17 min., b&w, in English) / The Documentary Channel presents ; written by Isabella Rossellini ; directed by Guy Maddin ; produced by Jody Shapiro ; editor, John Gurdebeke ; director of photography, Len Peterson ; score composed, conducted and orchestrated by Christopher Dedrick ; musicians, The Gryphon Trio ; produced in association with Sundance Channel -- Staplerfahrer Klaus : Der erste Arbeitstag = Forklift driver Klaus (2000, 9 min., col., in German) / ein Produktion der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Flurförderzeuge ; Regie und Drehbuch, Jürg Wagner, Stefan Prehn ; Kamera, Matthias Lehmann ; Schnitt, Andrea Stabenow ; Produktion, Trigon Film, Michael Sombetzki -- Uncle (1996, 6 min., tinted b&w, in English) / written, directed, animated, constructed and edited by Adam Benjamin Elliot ; narrator, William McInnes -- Cuarteto para el fin del tiempo = Quartet for the end of time (1983, 18 min., b&w, in Spanish) / CUEC, UNAM presentan ; edicion, Ariel Velázquez, Alfonso Cuarón Orozco ; música, Olivier Messian ; fotografia, Ariel Velázquez ; guión y dirección, Alfonso Cuarón Orozco -- Madame Tutli-Putli (c2007, 17 min., col., in English) / The National Film Board of Canada presents ; story and direction, Chris Lavis & Maciek Szczerbowski of Clyde Henry Productions ; producer, Marcy Page ; a production of The National Film Board of Canada -- A girl's own story (c1983, 25 min., b&w, in English) / written and directed by Jane Campion ; photography, Sally Bongers ; editor, Chris Lancaster ; production, Patricia L'Huede ; song composer, Alex Proyas -- Borom Sarret (1963, 18 min., b&w, in French) / un film de Sembene Ousmane ; images de Christian Lacoste ; montage, André Gaudier -- Soft (c2006, 14 min., col., in English) / UK Film Council & Film4 present ; director of photography, Chris Ross ; editor, Simon Ellis ; original music, Tom Bailey ; producer, Jane Hooks ; written and directed by Simon Ellis ; a Bub production in association with Perfume Films.

A collection of silent films, chiefly melodramas, made in Colombia. Included are also documentary footage, and modern documentaries on some of the films and filmmakers. The short film En busca de María (1985) is a fictionalized account of the making of a lost silent film.

Utilizing a delirious combination of puppets, humans, stop-motion animation and live action, Svankmajer's films conjure up a dreamlike universe that is at once dark, macabre, witty and perversely visceral.

True love ; M.O.S. / William Koening -- Lost in heaven / Scott Hartman -- Death and a salesman / Brazil J. Grisaffi -- All filler / JR Steendahl -- Flight of the Chicken ; Waffleman / Brad Wilson -- Choco Cola ; Cash daddy / Craig Johnson -- Beer goggles / Mike McClellan -- Leggo ; Gertie takes a trip to the moon and a man recycles / Demian -- Even angels cry / Eric Colley -- Palette Lost / Cary Silberman -- The carpenter / t e s -- My miracle / Mark P. Willner -- Blody Mary / Rick Danford -- John Doe, vigilante / Johnny Wu -- The walkers / Steven Brooks -- Mercy ; End games ; Wired / Ken Westermann.

A collection of short films nominated for the 78th Annual Academy Awards, including the winning live action short and the winning animated short.

Features animated shorts by Russian animator Yuri Norstein, including his first film, 25th : the first day, about the first day of the October Revolution, which combines poetry by Mayakovsky and music by Shostakovich with images and motifs inspired by the art of a number of Russia's leading avant-garde and post-revolutionary artists. Includes Battle of Kerjenets, which is based on a legendary Russian battle and features frescoes, icons, and Rimsky-Korsakov music, and several animated shorts based on Russian folk tales. Also presents Tale of tales, which weaves threads of realism and nostalgia around a popular Russian lullaby, Pablo Picasso's minotaur, and images of the lost glories of Alexander Pushkin and the golden age of Russian literature.

Contents:
25th : The First Day (1968, 10 min.)
Battle of Kerjenets (1971, 10 min.)
Fox and Rabbit (1975, 12 min.)
Heron and Crane (1974, 10 min.)
Hedgehog in the Fog (1975, 10 min.)
Tale of Tales (1978, 29 min.)

Country corners, an award winning PBS Special (1976), traces the history of the contra dance, emphasizing the importance of the contra dance as a social ritual and a community activity. The Ed Larkin dancers of East Bethel, Vermont, dance the traditional style contras, while more modern styles are shown by other dancers. Full of life a-dancin' is a portrait of a group of regional dancers, called the Southern Appalachian Cloggers, from a perpermill town in southern Appalachia. Included on the DVD is new footage of Bob McQuillen and his band Old New England and Dudley Laufman with his Electric Barn Dance Band.

Five restored classic films from Cuba.

Shows several motion picture title sequences designed by Academy Award winner Saul Bass. Bass talks about the evolution of his thematic title sequences and the design of these visual statements. The film explores the title sequences from: The Man with the Golden Arm (1955), West Side Story (1961), Walk on the Wild Side (1962), It's a Mad Mad Mad Mad World (1963), Seconds (1966). Bass also provides fascinating insight into some of his lesser known titles: Grand Prix (1966), Nine Hours to Rama (1963), The Victors (1963), In Harm's Way (1965), The Big Country (1958).

The two-disc set compiles one and two reel films directed by Griffith during his six-year position with the American Biograph Company, 1908-1913. Having made over 450 shorts before leaving Biograph to make feature films, these works showcase Griffith's early steps towards developing a cinematic language for narrative cinema.

Twenty-six masterworks by Stan Brakhage.

In this second installment, we are proud to present thirty more of Brakhage's innovative creations, from his 1950s films to his final work from 2003. Highlights of this collection include the antiwar film 23rd psalm branch; hand-painted films from the Persian series; The wonder ring, made for a commission by Joseph Cornell; the autobiographical Scenes from under childhood, section one; his only found-footage film, Murder psalm; and much more.

The Brothers Quay create puppet animation, where decaying dolls, primitive machinery, and other found objects interact in an expressionist world of ultra-reality.

This collection features 21 song-and-dance spectaculars staged and directed by Busby Berkeley, from movie musicals released in the 1930's. Included are excerpts from "42nd Street" (1933), "Gold diggers of 1933" (1933), "Fashions of 1934" (1934), "In Caliente" (1933), "Footlight parade" (1933), "Wonder Bar" (1934), "Dames" (1934), "Gold diggers of 1935" (1935), and "Gold diggers of 1937" (1937).

Three films made by Buster Keaton for MGM. The cameraman and Spite marriage are silent films with musical scores. Free and easy is Keaton's first talkie.