Research Guides: Business Research for Innovative Ventures: Market Leaders, Competitors & Players

Management Library FAQs

Find answers to using the Library and Business Research.

Databases for insights on ventures, corporations and not-for-profits

The following databases have a wide coverage of companies - some large and public, some small and private and anywhere in between. Look up specific companies, similar companies or generate a custom list based on criteria like location, industry, size, etc.

Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Details on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations: family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Company financials, M&A deals, valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, etc.
PrivCo limits Excel downloads.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information and statistics on a wide range of companies including startups. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. Licensed for academic & curricular uses only. All accounts are reset in May of each year to ensure compliance.
FactSet This link opens in a new window
FactSet is a financial platform that provides comprehensive data and analytics on global financial markets, economic measures, and companies. Any current Vanderbilt student, faculty or staff member can access FactSet for academic and non-commercial use. First-time users must register for a personal account using their Vanderbilt.edu email address, which can take up to 7 days to be processed. For faster access, FactSet is available on the computers in the Walker Management Library- no personal account needed.
Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Information on grantmakers and grants. Database of foundations, corporate giving programs, grantmaking public charities, sponsoring companies, recently awarded grants, and recently-filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.