This guide is designed to make your life easier by compiling image resources for your papers, presentations, and projects

Coverage extends from prehistoric cave paintings to contemporary photography and painting and represents works of art from six continents. Among its holdings are images focused on classical Greek art, Chinese and Japanese art, and American modernist art.

American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

Founded in 1972, Bridgeman Images works with museums, galleries, collections and artists to provide a central resource of fine art and archive footage for reproduction to creative professionals. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections.

Europeana.eu is about ideas and inspiration. It links you to 4.6 million digital items.
•Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects
•Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers
•Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts
•Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts.

Flickr is home to over five billion of the world’s photos.

In 1995, Mark Getty and Jonathan Klein founded Getty Images to bring the fragmented stock photography business into the digital age. And that's exactly what they did. We were the first company to license imagery online - and have continued to drive the industry forward with breakthrough licensing models, digital media management tools and a comprehensive offering of creative and editorial imagery, microstock, footage and music. (Not affiliated with the Getty Museum).

The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

Openly licensed datasets from several cultural institutions. All collections provide digital scans or photos that can be freely used without any restrictions.

Search over 7.7 million catalog records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.