Finding Books & Articles - ARTS 1200 /ARTS 1202 /ARTS 2200 - Photography - Reynolds

What's This Number?

How to Read a Call Number

Need help making sense of the Call # you found in Library Catalog? or where to find the book in the library?

Browsing for Books-Print

Another option is to browse the STACKS for books. The following call # areas might be of interest for this class.

Art Books-Regular and Oversize books are located on the 8th floor of the Central Library.

Photography Books, mainly TR are located on the 3rd floor of the Central Library.

Visual Arts (General)	N
Architecture	NA
Sculpture	NB
Drawing	NC
Painting	ND
Prints/Engravings	NE
Decorative Arts	NK
Arts in general	NX
Photography	TR

Vanderbilt University Library Search

Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:

Everything vs. Library Catalog vs. Articles

Search Scope	What is included?	When should I use it?
Everything	Broadest search scope Results will include books and ebooks, articles, and media like DVDs	A great option when you are just beginning your research process. Use Everything when you want to survey the research landscape for your topic
Library Catalog	Focuses on VU owned items, physical and digital Results will include books and ebooks, and media like DVDs Digital collections like the TV News Archive will also be included in your results	You have defined your information needs Use Library Catalog when you are ready to create a tailored search for your topic
Articles	Content from selected VU databases Popular and scholarly articles	Use Articles to find popular and scholarly articles on your topic. The Articles scope does not search across all databases accessible to the Vanderbilt community. Not finding the articles you need or want more database options? Consult the Database A-Z

For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?

Keyword vs Subject Searching:

Step 1:  Start your search process with a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question.
Step 2:  Use these keywords for your initial searches.
Step 3:  Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search.

The following databases will help you find articles on your topic:

Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for art literature: articles, indexing and abstracting of journals, and art dissertations; covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes indexing of publications, and citations of book reviews. Indexing of art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.
Coverage: 1929 to present.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
Resource for scholarly literature on western art, and successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete archive of American Vogue, documenting American and international fashion, culture, and society. High-resolution color page images, with every page, advertisement, cover, and fold-out included.
Coverage: 1892-present.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.

What is ?

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.