Research Guides: BUS 1400 Organizational Behavior: Evidence Based Research

Where to find research literature

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
Conference Board This link opens in a new window
Research on business management and trends. Scroll down to Insights From Across Our Centers then select the topic most appropriate for your organization's situation such as Marketing and Communications, or Human Capital to access reports in that area.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database with full text availability for nearly 2,000 journals in all academic fields. It includes same-day, full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes basic and applied psychology which covers marketing, advertising, organizational analysis, and human relations, as well as other psychology areas.
Coverage: 1800s to present.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Quantitative data, statistics, infographics, and related information compiled from market research institutes, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Vetting Your Sources

Searching the internet is quick and easy, and can be a great source for relevant, quality information. But remember, it’s not only about ‘what’ you find, but ‘how’ you use it.

Here are some guiding questions when researching a topic and putting your findings to good use:

Currency - How current is the information? Is the currency relevant for supporting my argument?

Reliability - In what ways is the source reputable? Are there factual errors?

Authority - Who created the information? Why? What is the scope of their expertise and experience that their authority is based on?

Purpose/Point of View - Are multiple perspectives considered? What are the author’s biases?

Please see this additional information about the CRAP test as well as the Vanderbilt University presentation What The Crap?