Research Guides: ASAM 2107: Social Movements in Asia and Asian America: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

1992 LA Riots
Asian/Pacific/American Archives Survey Project
This project was established in 2008 by the Asian/Pacific/American Institute and the Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives at New York University. It was the first systematic attempt to map existing and potential Asian/Pacific/American (A/P/A) archival collections in the New York metropolitan area. The project seeks to address the underrepresentation of East Coast Asian/Pacific/Americans in historic scholarship and archives by surveying the collections of community-based organizations and individuals.
A/P/A Voices
A/P/A Voices: A COVID-19 Public Memory Project
The Berkley Revolution
A digital archive of over 500 items related to the Bay Areas in the 1960s and 70s.
The Chinese Historical Society of America
CHSA collects, preserves, and illuminates the history of Chinese in America by serving as a center for research, scholarship and learning to inspire a greater appreciation for, and knowledge of, their collective experience through exhibitions, public programs, and any other means for reaching the widest audience.
Chinese News 加華時報
The Chinese News founded by Mr. Ting in 1983, distributed news and advertising to the Chinese-American population in San Diego until 1998. The weekly newspaper contains local and international news articles written in Chinese in addition to advertising in English and Chinese.
more...less...
1983-1996
Densho
The Densho organization is dedicated to preserving and sharing the story of WWII-era incarceration of Japanese Americans. Densho's resources include digitized primary documents and images, oral history interviews, an encyclopedia, background information, and much more.
Directory of Ethnic and Multicultural Archives
A directory of collections that document diversity through history strives to recognize collections that highlight diversity, with the hope that organizing and describing these collections in a central location increases discovery of the collections for information professionals, students, instructors, and researchers.
Michigan State University - Radicalism Collection
The Radicalism Collection includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States and throughout the world.
Out Of The Desert: Japanese and Japanese American Interment During WWII
Primary source materials from from Yale’s Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical access to the following newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Defender, The Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Cleveland Call & Post, The Commercial Appeal, Detroit Free Press, The Globe and Mail, Hartford Courant, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Korea Times, Knoxville News Sentinel, Leftist Newspapers, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, New York Tribune, Norfolk Journal & Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, San Francisco Chronicle, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The Tennessean, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

羅府新報 = The Rafu shimpo.
Published every weekday bilingually in Japanese and English for over 100 years, The Rafu Shimpo [L.A. Japanese Daily News] is the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the United States.
SF State College Strike Collection
Digital archive of San Fransicso State College during student strikes in 1968-69. Includes "publications, broadsides, flyers, scrapbooks, student newspapers, and other documents."
South Asian American Digital Archive
SAADA shares accounts of South Asian Americans.
UC San Diego's Primary Materials for Activism
UC San Diego's Primary Materials for Asian Americans
Offers links to a variety of projects, exhibits, and digital histories.
USC Digital Library : Asian-American and Pacific Islander Studies
Virtual Asian American Art Museum
The Virtual Asian American Art Museum has brought together curators and art scholars with art and archives collections from individual collections and institutions around the world to invite you to experience Asian American art.

ASAM 2107: Social Movements in Asia and Asian America: Primary Sources

Vanderbilt Television News Archive Tutorials

Primary Sources