Book Catalogs
- Library Search This link opens in a new window
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
HathiTrust Digital Library includes full-text of materials, many out of copyright (1923 or before), and records of later materials to the Vanderbilt community from the a partnership of major U.S. academic and research libraries.
Google Books. Searches the full text of books and selected magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database. Most titles are no longer in print or commercially available.
Finding Books in Other Libraries?
WorldCat contains more than 125 million records describing items owned by U.S. libraries and libraries around the world.
These items include books, manuscripts, musical scores, films, newspapers, etc.
Useful Library of Congress Subject Headings
SEARCH TIPS:
- Use AND to combine terms & narrow your search
- example: Asian Americans AND Mass media
- Use OR to search for related terms & expand your search
- Minorities in mass media OR Racism in mass media
- Use * to truncate a word & return all possible endings
- example: Social media influencer* (will return Social media influencer and Social media influencers)
- Use ALL CAPS for AND and OR
SEARCH BY LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT SEARCH
Below are a selection of useful Library of Congress Subject Headings for searching:
| social media | Internet personalities (instead of Social media influencers or Internet celebrities) |
| TikTok (Electronic resource) | Asian Americans and YouTube (not a LC subject) |
| Asian Americans and Instagram (not a LC subject) | |
| climatic changes (instead of climate change) | climatic changes and denial* (note: climatic changes denial is not a LC subject) |
| internet and activism and Asian Americans | mass media and Asian Americans |
Books
Asian Americans by
"Compared to many existing texts on this subject, which tend to take a rather historical approach, this book focuses on more contemporary Asian experiences. Thus, Min has provided a new tool for those of use who have looked for adequate material to teach current Asian American trends in advanced undergraduate courses in the sociology of race as well as in ethnic studies. Encompassing a variety of perspectives from prominent scholars makes this book a valuable device to examine the less visible aspects of Asian Americans' lives. Students and educators alike would certainly benefit from diligent study of this text." --TEACHING SOCIOLOGY, reviewed October 2006 by Etsuko Maruoka, SUNY-Stony BrookOffering a broad overview of the Asian American experience, Asian Americans provides an accessible resource for all students interested in the expanding and important Asian American population. While historical information is provided for each group, the main focus is on the variables and issues that impact Asian American life today. The scholars who author the chapters look at topics such as labor force participation and economic status, educational achievements, intermarriage, intergroup relations, and settlement patterns. Photo essays help to enhance the presentations.Key Features:Covers the Asian American population as a whole as well as individual ethnic groups, i.e. Korean Americans, Indian Americans, etc. Covers theories as well as providing sociological data to illustrate issues for Asian Americans as a whole and as individual groups. Visual essays on the following topics provide powerful illustrations of the text content. Filipino Americans Japanese Americans Korean Americans Chinese Americans South Asian Americans Southeast Asian Americans Economic Adaptation Second Generation Experiences Updated to not only include information derived from 2000 Census data, but also has a focus on the second generation experience.
ISBN: 1412905567Publication Date: 2005-07-14
Asian American Media Activism by ISBN: 1479835943Publication Date: 2016-01-01How activists and minority communities use media to facilitate social change and achieve cultural citizenship.
Media events in web 2.0 China : interventions of online activism by ISBN: 1-84519-635-XPublication Date: 2016
Books related to Asian American Movement (in Print)
The Making of Asian America by
The definitive history of Asian Americans by one of the nation's preeminent scholars on the subject. In the past fifty years, Asian Americans have helped change the face of America and are now the fastest growing group in the United States. But as award-winning historian Erika Lee reminds us, Asian Americans also have deep roots in the country. The Making of Asian America tells the little-known history of Asian Americans and their role in American life, from the arrival of the first Asians in the Americas to the present-day. An epic history of global journeys and new beginnings, this book shows how generations of Asian immigrants and their American-born descendants have made and remade Asian American life in the United States: sailors who came on the first trans-Pacific ships in the 1500s; indentured "coolies" who worked alongside African slaves in the Caribbean; and Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, Korean, and South Asian immigrants who were recruited to work in the United States only to face massive racial discrimination, Asian exclusion laws, and for Japanese Americans, incarceration during World War II. Over the past fifty years, a new Asian America has emerged out of community activism and the arrival of new immigrants and refugees. No longer a "despised minority," Asian Americans are now held up as America's "model minorities" in ways that reveal the complicated role that race still plays in the United States. Published to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the passage of the United States' Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965 that has remade our "nation of immigrants," this is a new and definitive history of Asian Americans. But more than that, it is a new way of understanding America itself, its complicated histories of race and immigration, and its place in the world today.
Call Number: Central Reserves ; E184 .A75 L43 2015ISBN: 9781476739403Publication Date: 2015-09-01
