Primary Sources - HIST 1383-01: Slave Resistance in the Americas - Landers

Resources

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Articles, audio clips, images, primary source documents, maps, monographs, and government documents covering all aspects of the African American experience from Greenwood Press, Negro University Press, etc.

Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life - A Visual Record
Includes maps and historic images (by category) and a searchable database.

Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. History, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, etc.
Coverage: 1450-1930.
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents on key aspects of the history of slavery. The African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. Case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Database
Database of slave voyages from the 16th to 19th centuries.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics.
Black Studies Center
Includes essays, articles, historic newspapers, and black periodicals and newspapers.

British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Confidential Print: Latin America This link opens in a new window
Papers of the British Foreign and Colonial Offices, 1833-1969. Documents include dispatches, telegrams, investigative reports and treaties. Revolutions, political movements, railway development, the Panama Canal, the slave trade, immigration, the Vargas dictatorship in Brazil, indigenous relations.
Coverage: 1833-1969.

Dialnet
Index and full text to many Spanish language journals, documents, and other publications.

EEBO - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Digital images of books published during the 18th Century in the areas of history, geography, social sciences, religion and philosophy, general reference, fine arts, literature and language, law, medicine, science and technology.
Coverage: 1701-1800.
European Views of the Americas This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. Covers the history of European exploration and portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; natural disasters, disease outbreaks, slavery, etc.

Hein Online
Early publications and commentary on laws imposed in various countries (e.g., treatment of slaves), conditions, cases.

Making of America (Cornell) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Separate sites at Cornell and the University of Michigan contain different sets of materials.
Coverage: 19th century.

PARES
Indexes documents in the Archivo General de Indias and other Spanish archives. Good source for primary documents on the administration of the Spanish new world. Many of the documents are digitized.

Sabin Americana
Books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, through the early 1900s. Original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, etc. 1500-1926

Colonial America This link opens in a new window
Manuscript material from the Colonial Office files at the UK National Archives that documents all aspects of life in colonial America. Includes original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies.
Coverage: 1606-1822.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new window
Books and pamphlets, US Supreme Court records, newspapers and periodicals, manuscripts, and reference materials for the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
Archive of rare historical journals that examine a variety of topical issues such as colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Coverage: 1685-1835.