Background Beginning Sources - HIST 1383-01: Slave Resistance in the Americas - Landers

Getting Started

Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Most up to date research encyclopedias for Latin America and the Caribbean and other regions. A search of slavery and resistance results in an excellent article on the Atlantic slave trade and the historiography of resistance.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Literary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Subject reference works on a wide variety of topics. Includes foreign language dictionaries.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage
Overview articles on many topics relating to the Atlantic World slave trade, including its historiography, slave ships, licensing, handbooks for slave traders, etc.
World of a Slave: Encyclopedia of the Material Life of Slaves in the US
Articles and documents on slave-made objects, canoes, schools, linens, caricatures, dance, music, abolition imagery, etc.

ABC CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital reference collection, including: Encyclopedia of Ellis Island, Encyclopedia of Modern Olympic Movement, Dictionary of Medical Biography, American Universities and Colleges, The American Slave narrative series, and Terrorism: a Documentary and Reference Guide.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Articles and books on the archaeology, history, etc. of slavery, the slave trade, and resistance.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Articles, page images, and abstracts, including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries.