RLST 2134 - Asian/Asian American Religions in the US - McNicholl: Finding Books and Journal Articles

• The Library of Congress's Research Guide: "Chinese Exclusion Act: Primary Documents in American History"

• The "Chinese American: Exclusion/Inclusion" website's resource page

• Densho archive of Japanese American incarceration

• National Archives on Japanese American incarceration

• California State University Japanese American Digitization Project (CSUJAD)

• "AAPI Histories of the South," Arkansas National Consortium for Teaching About Asia

• Vietnamese Boat People

• South Asian American Digital Archive

• South Asian Indentured Labor – Online Archive of Research & Resources (SAIL-OAR2)

• PBS's "Roots in the Sand" project

• University of California, Davis's "Pioneering Punjabis Digital Archive"

• Islamophobia is Racism Syllabus

• "First Days Project"

• Minnesota Immigrant Oral Histories

• Religion and Forced Migration Initiative, Princeton

• Korean American Digital Archive

Library catalog for the following kinds of searches:

• Searches patterned like [religious tradition] AND "asian americans": e.g., buddh* AND "asian americans"
  
  
   
• Subject searches patterned like [Asian American group] religion: e.g., korean americans religion
  
  
   

++++++++++

In addition to the library catalog, what follows are some other resources to help you find books, book chapters, articles, and other materials for your projects for Asian and Asian American Religions in the U.S.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Religion - Some places to start:

• Asian American Religions
• Hinduism in America
• History of Muslims in the United States
• Imamura Families and the Making of American Buddhism

++++++++++

Atla Religion Database - Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some full text.

• Do this search: Type asian americans religion in the search field and change the dropdown next to the field to SU Subjects.
  
  
   
• But this search won't necessarily get you everything. Try a subject search for asian americans and you'll see items on Asian American churches, Asian American Catholics, and so on.

++++++++++

Oxford Bibliographies - Guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. Some places to start:

• Buddhism in the West (North America and Europe)
• Hinduism in North America
• Islam in North America

++++++++++

Bibliography of Asian Studies - Index of books, journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, and conference proceedings on all subjects (especially the Humanities and Social Sciences) pertaining to the East, Southeast, and South Asia.

++++++++++

Index Islamicus - Bibliography covering all the main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, as well as Muslims living elsewhere, and their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Journal articles, books, reviews, and papers in multi-author volumes.

++++++++++

RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - Articles in Jewish studies from the National Library of Israel.

What is ?

provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

An FAQ for is also available.

Need help making sense of the Call # you found in Library Catalog?  or where to find the book in the library?