Starting Your Research
Use the library catalog to see if we have the books, book chapters, and articles listed in the bibliographies of the resources below.
- When the thing you're looking for is a book or book chapter, search for the book title or book author/editor.
- When it's a journal article, search for the journal title.
Confused? Check out our Understanding Citations guide. Still confused? Let me know.
Asian American Religious Cultures by
Despite constituting a fairly small proportion of the U.S. population--roughly 5 percent--Asian Americans are a widely diverse group with equally heterogeneous religious beliefs and traditions. This encyclopedia provides a single source for authoritative information on the Asian American and Pacific Islander religious experience, addressing South Asian Americans, such as Indian Americans and Pakistani Americans; East Asian Americans, including Chinese Americans, Japanese Americans, and Korean Americans; and Southeast Asian Americans, whose ethnicities include Filipino Americans, Thai Americans, and Vietnamese Americans. Pacific Islanders include Hawaiians, Samoans, Marshallese, Tongan, and Chamorro. The coverage includes not only traditional eastern belief systems and traditions such as Buddhism, Confucianism, and Hinduism as well as Micronesian and Polynesian religious traditions in the United States, but also the culture and religious rituals of Asian American Christians.
ISBN: 9781598843316Publication Date: 2015
Asian Religions in America: A Documentary History by
Asian religions have a long and intriguing history in America. For over two centuries, Asian immigrants have been coming to America and bringing their religions with them. Some Americans have reacted with alarm to the arrival of heathen religions on American shores, while others have taken refuge with lamas from Tibet, yogis from India, and Zen masters from Japan.
ISBN: 0195113381Publication Date: 1998
Buddhists, Hindus and Sikhs in America by
Buddhists, Hindus, and Sikhs in America explores the challenges that Asian immigrants face when their religion--and consequently culture--is "remade in the U.S.A." Peppered with stories of individual people and how they actually live their religion, this informative book gives an overview of each religion's beliefs, a short history of immigration--and discrimination--for each group, and how immigrants have adapted their religious beliefs since they arrived. Along the way, the roles of men and women, views toward dating and marriage, the relationship to the homeland, the "brain drain" from Asia of scientists, engineers, physicians, and other professionals, and American offshoots of Asian religions, such as the Hare Krishnas and Transcendental Meditation (TM), are discussed.
ISBN: 0198044240Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History by
Places Muslim Americans in the Center of American History and Culture Muslims have long played a central role in American history. Since the colonial period, when an estimated 20,000 African Muslims were transported to America as slaves, to the early 20th century, when Muslim immigrants came to the United States from the Middle East, Europe, and Asia, to the present day, Islam has been an integral part of the American experience. The terrorist attacks of 9/11 produced a heavy backlash against Muslim Americans, contributing to their being stereotyped, maligned, and marginalized in American society. Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History places Muslim Americans squarely in the center of American history and culture. Written in clear and jargon-free prose, this authoritative reference provides a new and broader, more inclusive approach to American history. Including nearly 300 articles, this two-volume reference set is the first to focus on this critical subject, covering all the historical and contemporary issues, events, people, court cases, themes, and activism relating to Muslim Americans. More than 100 historians, scholars, and experts contributed to this encyclopedia, tracing the experiences and impact that Muslim Americans have had on our nation's history for hundreds of years. Helpful reference features include original documents, a master chronology, and an extensive bibliography.
ISBN: 0816075751Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Handbook of Asian American History by
After emerging from the tumult of social movements of the 1960s and 1970s, the field of Asian American studies has enjoyed rapid and extraordinary growth. Nonetheless, many aspects of Asian American history still remain open to debate. The Oxford Handbook of Asian American History offers thefirst comprehensive commentary on the state of the field, simultaneously assessing where Asian American studies came from and what the future holds.In this volume, thirty leading scholars offer original essays on a wide range of topics. The chapters trace Asian American history from the beginning of the migration flows toward the Pacific Islands and the American continent to Japanese American incarceration and Asian American participation inWorld War II, from the experience of exclusion, violence, and racism to the social and political activism of the late twentieth century. The authors explore many of the key aspects of the Asian American experience, including politics, economy, intellectual life, the arts, education, religion, labor,gender, family, urban development, and legal history.The Oxford Handbook of Asian American History demonstrates how the roots of Asian American history are linked to visions of a nation marked by justice and equity and to a deep effort to participate in a global project aimed at liberation. The contributors to this volume attest to the ongoingimportance of these ideals, showing how the mass politics, creative expressions, and the imagination that emerged during the 1960s are still relevant today. It is an unprecedentedly detailed portrait of Asian Americans and how they have helped change the face of the United States.
ISBN: 0199860467Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History by
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History brings together a number of established scholars, as well as younger scholars on the rise, to provide a scholarly overview for those interested in the role of religion and race in American history. Thirty-four scholars from the fields of History, Religious Studies, Sociology, Anthropology, and more investigate the complex interdependencies of religion and race from pre-Columbian origins to the present. The volume addresses the religious experience, social realities, theologies, and sociologies of racialized groups in American religious history, as well as the ways that religious myths, institutions, and practices contributed to their racialization. Part One begins with a broad introductory survey outlining some of the major terms and explaining the intersections of race and religions in various traditions and cultures across time. Part Two provides chronologically arranged accounts of specific historical periods that follow a narrative of religion and race through four-plus centuries. Taken together, The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History provides a reliable scholarly text and resource to summarize and guide work in this subject, and to help make sense of contemporary issues and dilemmas.
ISBN: 0190221178Publication Date: 2018- Oxford Research Encyclopedias by Publication Date: 2015-When you're on the home page of the resource, choose "Browse by Subject" and then "Religion in America." See also under the "Finding Books and Journal Articles" tab for specific useful articles.
As a Vanderbilt student you can:
- get help with your research assignments by using Ask a Librarian;
- borrow books and other items from any of the campus libraries (except Special Collections);
- return most items you check out to any library;
- find book drops outside the libraries and at the Commons Center.
