Primary Sources - HIST 2542 - Cuba and the United States - Robinson

Primary Resources

Confidential Print: Latin America

Papers of the British Foreign and Colonial Offices, 1833-1969. Documents include dispatches, telegrams, investigative reports and treaties. Revolutions, political movements, railway development, the Panama Canal, the slave trade, immigration, the Vargas dictatorship in Brazil, indigenous relations.

Coverage: 1833-1969.
Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 1: â€œCasa y Culturaâ€
Primary source materials from the Archivo Vertical at Casa de las Américas library document the activities of the institution both in Cuba and beyond, bearing testimony to the conflicts and passions of a turbulent time.

CIA Crest Archive
CIA archive (e.g., intelligence reports, JPRS) dating back to the beginning of the Cold War era.
*Digital National Security Archive
Declassified documents relating to US foreign relations from World War II to present. Can select a DSNA collection (Guatemala, Cuban missile crisis, Argentina, Mexico-US counternarcotics, CIA covert operations).
National Security Archive
George Washington University site of declassified documents from World War II to present organized into electronic briefing books.

Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS) (now called U.S. Declassified Documents Online)
Declassified government documents covering major domestic and international events since the end of World War II. Cabinet meeting minutes, correspondence, diary entries, intelligence reports, political analyses and technical studies from the White House, State Department, National Security Agency, FBI, and CIA.
U. S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1979) - Readex
House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. For political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, international relations, travel, commerce, industrial development, etc.

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
A free and open access collection of Caribbean cultural, historical, scientific and research materials held in archives, libraries, museums, private collections, and other institutions of memory.

Includes collections from Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí and many other institutions that collect material about the history of Cuba.

Sabin Americana
Books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, through the early 1900s. Original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, etc.

Coverage: 1500-1926.
History Vault
Includes CIA Research Reports: Latin America, Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Central America, 1930-1945: Cuba, and many other relevant collections.

Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO)
English and foreign-language titles printed inthe UK and works fromthe Americas from 1701-1800.

Making of the Modern World
Digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. History, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, etc.

Coverage: 1450-1930.

Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Sources
Selected links to Latin American digital projects and collections in US libraries. Click on bottom right icon to see listings by country and subject.
New Iberian World: A Documentary History of the Discovery and Settlement of Latin America to the early 17th century
Available at the Central Library, F1411 .I18 1984 Armistead 4th floor.
World Scholar - Latin America & the Caribbean
Contains digital versions of historical documentary collections (e.g., Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, and Military Conditions in Central America, 1918-1941; Colección de documentos inéditos relativos al descubrimiento, conquista y organización de las antiguas posesiones españolas de America y Oceania;Conquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492–1825; Selections from Sabin Americana: 1500–1926; Selections from 19th Century newspapers)
Additional Primary Sources in History
Documents of Latin American and Latino Art
Over 8,000 original documents relating to Latinx and Latin American art.
Princeton's Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
A steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.
Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Sources
A growing list of digital collections in libraries and archives. Arranged by subject and country.
LACLI: Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, Iberian Free Resources
Digitized openly accessible collections including many primary sources.
PARES: Portal de Archivos Españoles
Primary documents from the Archivo General de Indias and other Spanish archives.

Archives Unbound
Includes World Communism Pamphlet Collection from McMaster University & other relevant sources.

Braga Brothers Sugar Collection (University of Florida)
This collection is one of the richest archival sources on the modernization and expansion of the Cuban sugar industry. As the archive of a large North American company that did business in Cuba it provides insights to the unique commercial relationship that once existed between Cuba and the United States. The collection is, as well, an unavoidable historical source on topics pertaining to the social and political aspects of sugar production in pre-Castro Cuba.

HIST 2542 - Cuba and the United States - Robinson

Primary Sources at Vanderbilt

Newspapers

Primary Resources