Primary Resources
- Early English Books OnlineBooks, pamphlets and other primary documents from 1473-1700.
- Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO)English and foreign-language titles printed inthe UK and works fromthe Americas from 1701-1800.
- Making of the Modern World, 1450-1850*Primary documents from the period.
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, through the early 1900s. Original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, etc.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new windowContains digital versions of historical documentary collections (e.g., Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, and Military Conditions in Central America, 1918-1941; Colección de documentos inéditos relativos al descubrimiento, conquista y organización de las antiguas posesiones españolas de America y Oceania; Conquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492–1825; Selections from Sabin Americana: 1500–1926; Selections from 19th Century newspapers).
- New Iberian World: A Documentary History of the Discovery and Settlement of Latin America to the early 17th centuryCurrently available via Hathi Trust. Volumes cover different regions. See also subject index at end of Vol. 4. Also available at the Central Library, Reference F1411 .I18 1984 Armistead 4th floor.
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima LibraryMonographs and pamphlets about Brazil, focused on history, politics and literature (for example: travel, immigration, public health). Dates of Coverage: majority from mid-1500s-early 1900s
- Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary SourcesSelected links to Latin American digital projects and collections in US libraries. Click on bottom right icon to see listings by country and subject.
- Colonial AmericaCovering the period 1606 to 1822, it includes the original correspondence of the the colonial governments and the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean; records of piracy and rivalry on the seas with the Spanish and French.
- O Governo dos Outros (Portuguese Empire)Portuguese Empire 1496-1961 relating largely to laws and legislation, from the royal ordinances forward.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineContains encyclopedic overviews, articles, primary sources on many subjects dealing with Atlantic world history.
- LACLI: Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, Iberian Free ResourcesDigitized openly accessible collections including many primary sources.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseThe Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1979Contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress. It began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817).
Latin American Travelogues
The goal of this project is to create a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. The works selected are linked to critical essays produced by undergraduate students who are enrolled in Prof. Green's courses on Latin American history. This site will serve as a free-access visual and research tool for students and scholars alike.
Finding Primary Sources on Library Catalog
- Go to Advanced Search in the online catalog
- enter the keyword sources or personal narratives or diaries
- enter terms related to your topic
- Find Subject Headings in the "details" of relevant books related to your topic that include words such as "sources, "personal narratives," "pictorial," or "diaries". Click on those headings for more books on that topic.
PARES - Portal de Archivos Españoles
PARES:Portal de Archivos Españoles
Contains digital documents from a variety of archives in Spain. Maintained by the Spanish government.
