Latin American Core Databases
The databases below will help you find articles on topics relating to Latin America.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowPrincipal index to articles on Latin America and Hispanic Americans in the US; journals on Latin American and Caribbean themes in the social sciences and humanities published in the Western world. Book reviews also indexed.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowJournals relating to anthropology and archaeology, especially as it related to pre-Columbian life.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- PRISMA: Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reference resource of articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Key titles in English, Spanish and Portuguese.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowPrimary database for research on Latin America, indexing books and articles on Latin America in the social sciences and humanities. Covers the principal research worldwide and is especially strong in its inclusion of Latin American publications, articles, etc. Includes abstracts. Includes unpublished volumes in draft form.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowJournal articles relating to the history and culture of the US and Canada.
- SciELO Scientific Electronic Library Online This link opens in a new windowJournals and books published in Brazil and other countries in Latin America on health care, sciences, social sciences, literature, and arts.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean covering current issues and events as well as historical events back to the colonial period.
- Bibliografia Mesoamericana This link opens in a new windowBibliography of the anthropology of Mesoamerica, including Mexico and parts of Central America: archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Includes bibliographic citations to books, articles, essays, festschrifts, dissertations, obituaries, films, newspapers, etc. Book reviews are omitted.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowHumanities and social sciences periodicals. Includes Foundation Collection. Sister database to Periodicals Index Online.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
- Ibero-Amerikanischen InstitutsIndex to articles from many Latin American journals. Also can search multiple databases (e.g., HLAS). Service of the Ibero-American Institute in Berlin; access to their catalog.
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library This link opens in a new windowPamphlets about Brazil, focused on history, politics and literature (for example: travel, immigration, public health).
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is another tool you can use to search for scholarly literature online. Google Scholar provides access to "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."
What Google Scholar does not contain, in most cases, is the fulltext of the articles -- but it does work with the library's Findit@VU service to help you get to the fulltext when available. If you are on campus, Findit@VU will automatically appear -- but if you are off campus it won't. Not clicking on Findit@VU may lead to you receiving a message indicating that you must purchase the article to view it.
Bookmark this link as your access point to Google Scholar to ensure that the Findit@VU links appears in your searches or follow the instructions for setting your preferences in the video below. Don't get caught paying for articles when you don't have to!
