Law and Criminal Justice Resources

Check out these tips for researching true crime!

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal research database. Extensive coverage of law reviews and historical access to resources such as the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and US Supreme Court decisions. Legislative history and select foreign and international materials. Contains specialized libraries: intellectual property, taxation and economic reform, etc.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Indexing for major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals. Law-related articles from business and general interest titles.
Coverage: 1980-.
ProQuest Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. A recommended resource for researching criminology, prisons and incarceration, policing, the criminal justice system.

Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical documents relating to famous trials during this time period.
Coverage: 1600-1926.
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
Trial transcripts, court proceedings, police and forensic documents, photographs, true crime literature and detective novels, and newspaper accounts derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources.
Coverage: 1790-1920.

RECAP: US Federal Court Documents
The documents in this collection are from the US Federal Courts. A large collection come from the federal government's project for Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER). The PACER Service Center is the Federal Judiciary's centralized registration, billing, and technical support center for electronic access to U.S. District, Bankruptcy, and Appellate court records.

Crime Report This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive news on criminal justice in the US and abroad. Investigative reports, analysis, blogs and commentary by criminologists, practitioners, law enforcement/corrections professionals, and legal experts. Daily summaries criminal justice news covered by the national and international press.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
Access Note: Personal account required for some functionality.

Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals, 1950-1980 This link opens in a new window
Over half a million pages of briefs from appellants, appellees, and supporters (amicus briefs), with their respective replies, as well as appendices, memoranda, petitions, plaintiff statements, transcripts, and more from the various circuits of the U.S. Courts of Appeals.
Coverage: 1950-1980.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 This link opens in a new window
Digital images of legal treatises on British Commonwealth and American law. Coverage includes casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1926 This link opens in a new window
State and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history.
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical documents relating to famous trials during this time period.
Coverage: 1600-1926.
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 This link opens in a new window
Records and briefs brought before the US Supreme Court.
Coverage: 1832-1978.