African American Newspapers; The Charleston Mercury; Chester & Delaware Federalist; The Christian Recorder; The Civil War Part I. A Newspaper Perspective; The Colored American; Delaware County American; Delaware County Republican; Frederick Douglass Paper; Douglass Monthly; Freedom's Journal; Media Advertiser; The National Era; The New York Herald; The North Star; The Pennsylvania Gazette; The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog [collection]; Pennsylvania Newspaper Record; The Pennsylvania Packet; Porcupines Gazette; Provincial Freeman; Richmond Enquirer; The Upland Union; Village Record; Weekly Advocate.
This database of eight African-American Newspapers provides information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and reports on major events and issues of the day. Newspapers are:
The Christian Recorder (1861–1902), The Colored American (1837–1841), Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863) , Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829), The National Era (1847–1860), The North Star (1847–1851), Provincial Freeman (1854–1857), Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)
Newspaper & News Magazine Collections
Specific Newspapers
First-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Direct link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
Business magazines, trade publications, and newspapers; includes the Wall Street Journal.
Political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean.
Follow these steps below to start or renew your subscription to the New York Times:
One registered, users will have 364 days of full account access at www.nytime.com. If you still have questions, please contact newsdesk@list.vanderbilt.edu
IMPORTANT: Streaming clips from the Television News Archive from off-campus requires the installation of the Pulse VPN service and the use of Duo Multi-Factor Authentication. You can find detailed information about the Pulse VPN and Duo as well as download files on Vanderbilt's Information Technology page: https://it.vanderbilt.edu/services/catalog/end-point_computing/network_access/remote-access/index.php
