HART 2755: Women in Art since 1850 - VanDiver

A small sampling of women artists and their works in the vast visual arts collections of the Smithsonian. American women photographers have also made their mark in the visual arts. The Smithsonian tells the stories of women within our museums and beyond our walls, critically examining the past and highlighting art and artists who might have been overlooked historically.

Library of Congress Gateway online tool guide for research sources related to the study of American women in the Library of Congress collections.

The Library and Research Center (LRC) holds primary-source records in the Archives of Women Artists as well as the historical records of the National Museum of Women in the Arts.

The collection includes works by more than 1,000 nationally and internationally renowned artists.

The Dinner Party, an important icon of 1970s feminist art and a milestone in twentieth-century art, is presented as the centerpiece around which the Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art is organized. Brooklyn Museum

The Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art is an exhibition and education environment dedicated to feminist art—its past, present, and future. Among the most ambitious, influential, and enduring artistic movements to emerge in the late twentieth century, feminist art has played a leading role in the art world over the last forty years. Dramatically expanding the definition of art to be more inclusive in all areas, from subject matter to media, feminist art reintroduced the articulation of socially relevant issues after an era of aesthetic “formalism,” while pioneering the use of performance and audiovisual media within a fine art idiom.

Santa Fe, New Mexico

The Miriam Schapiro Archives on Women Artists works to document, preserve, and make available to researchers postwar American women’s art history. Our collections include individual artist’s papers, feminist institutional papers, and various registries of women artists. We collect various types of material including but not limited to: traditional paper archives, ephemera, printed materials, photographic/audio/visual media, and artifacts.

Modern women artists at MOMA, New York

The National Museum of Women in the Arts is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to championing women through the arts.

The Women's Art Library began as an artists' initiative that developed into an arts organization publishing catalogues and books as well as a magazine from the early 1980s to 2002. The main purpose however was to provide a place for women artists to deposit unique documentation of their work. WAL collected personal files that functioned together as an alternative public space to view and experience women's art. Thousands of artists from around the world are represented in some form in this collection.

WomenArts is dedicated to increasing the visibility of women artists in all art forms.

Vanderbilt Libraries offers a variety of resources and services for research and scholarship. Make sure you don't miss out on any of these library perks for Vanderbilt affiliates.