Research Guides: Consulting Resources: Industry Research

Databases

These databases contain prepared reports which have industry information and analysis. The reports may be written by independent firms, consultants, industry experts, or investment services. Use them to review the general landscape of an industry, as well as identifying trends, ratios, norms, SWOT, key statistics, and competitors.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Large collection of industry reports; market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Quantitative data, statistics, infographics, and related information compiled from market research institutes, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

First Research (Intellect)
Gives broad industry review, indicators, challenges, trends, opportunities, industry norms and ratios, industry association links, plus the Executive Insight section – what C-level executives are concerned about in this industry. Three main sections of key business intelligence interest: Industry Profiles, Industry Prospector, and States/Provinces.

Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Details on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news.

Industry Specific Databases

e-Marketer This link opens in a new window
Market research reports that focus on how e-commerce and the Internet affect business and industry. eStat section has statistics and graphs.
Coverage: Full access to the current and previous year's reports. Vendor Tutorials: eMarketer Total Access Demo Video - http://www.emarketer.com/docs/Multimedia/emarketer_total_access_demo_040611/emarketer_total_access_demo_040611.html

Forrester
Analyzes the future of technology change and its impact on businesses, consumers and society. This includes the Internet economy as it impacts Internet commerce, corporate technology, and consumer behavior. Our license does not include direct access to Forrester analysts for research inquiries, please do not phone, write, or send e-mail inquiries.
more...less...
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off-campus. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Market research on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations. Industry analysis and market forecasts for advanced materials, high-tech systems and components, nanotechnology and novel processing methods.

Benchmarks & Ratios

Industry Ratios provide analysis of diverse financial data for an industry. They can be used to compare a company against its peers.

First Research (Intellect)
Within an industry profile, select FINANCIAL INFORMATION.
more...less...
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, staff, and alumni have access to this resource, both on and off-campus. Owen alumni also have access.
Hoovers (formerly OneSource)
On a COMPANIES profile page, scroll down the left hand menu and select ANNUAL RATIOS under the Financials section.