Librarian
Welcome to the World of Library Research!
The Library is here to connect you to online resources!
- Access databases, journals and e-books online using your VUnet ID & password
- Work directly with a librarian!
- Email Ramona with a question
- Schedule a virtual meeting with Ramona for in-depth research help
- Need a quick and dirty answer? Connect to us via chat from any library webpage!
Knowing where to start isn't always easy, especially when you're dealing with an unfamiliar subject. Sometimes the best place to start is a subject specific dictionary or encyclopedia. Below is a selected list of print and online reference resources.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780684314167Publication Date: 2004-02-01
Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780195154375Publication Date: 2004-12-09
Encyclopedia of Kitchen History by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0203319176Publication Date: 2004-12-29
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Vol. 7: Foodways by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0807858404Publication Date: 2007-09-24
We Eat What? a Cultural Encyclopedia of Unusual Foods in the United States by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781440841125Publication Date: 2018-05-25
