Useful Links

Getting Help

If you need assistance, you can call (615-322-2807) or e-mail the library and request a consultation with a librarian.

You may also visit the Your Librarians tab and contact Teresa or Yvonne directly.

Be sure to also check out the Heard Libraries' Research Productivity Workshops being offered this Fall on Zoom!

Historic Restoration Sites

American Association for State and Local History
In 1904, the American Historical Association, itself a fledgling professional body, established the semi-autonomous Conference of State and Local Historical Societies to serve the leaders of those agencies. In 1939, a group of Conference members, chaired by Christopher C. Crittenden, director of the North Carolina Department of Archives and History, discussed and then proposed the creation of an independent entity. Its job would be to better coordinate the activities of historical societies and stimulate the writing and teaching of state and local history in North America.
Historic Nashville Inc.
Established in 1968 and renamed in 1975, Historic Nashville, Inc. (HNI) is a nonprofit membership organization with the mission to promote and preserve the historic places that make Nashville unique.
National Register of Historic Places
The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.
National Trust for Historic Preservation
America’s historic sites are irreplaceable. From icons of architecture to birthplaces of activists, historic sites are physical reminders of the diversity of our experiences and the history we share. They can celebrate our triumphs. Or challenge us to confront the harsh realities of our past.

APA Style
Online APA Style Manual at the American Psychological Association web site. Includes a blog which addresses frequently asked questions.

The Chicago Manual of Style Online
University of Chicago Press

Nashville Public Library
Explore NPL's local history collection at the Main Library for background on historical events driving the university's growth.

Sanborn Maps (Tennessee, 1867-1970)
Database of highly detailed insurance maps. Browse the maps by city, select a year, then view detailed images of streets. Some locations are even marked for future construction.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Keyword searchable video archive of television news footage. Subscribing institutions can view news clips online using RealPlayer.

Vanderbilt University
Home page for Vanderbilt University. Keyword search the site for recent news on building construction and renovation.

Vanderbilt University Campus Map
Interactive map of the campus. Select names from the building list for a thumnail sketch of the history of the building.

The Writer's Handbook: MLA Documentation Guide
The Writing Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison

HART 2820: Architectural Heritage: Research and Documentation - Worsnick: Useful Links

Getting Help

Historic Restoration Sites

Useful Links