Books
Art & Architecture Dictionaries & Encyclopedias & Bibliographies Online
- Architecture: Heilbrunn Timeline of Art: Metropolitan Museum of ArtArchitectural elements
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford’s art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
Browsing for Books
Another option is to browse the STACKS for books. The following call # areas might be of interest for this class.
Art Books-Regular and Oversize books are located on the 8th floor of the Central Library.
| Visual Arts (General) | N |
| Architecture | NA |
| Sculpture | NB |
| Drawing | NC |
| Painting | ND |
| Prints/Engravings | NE |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Arts in general | NX |
| Photography | TR |
What's This Number?
Need help making sense of the Call # you found in Library Catalog? or where to find the book in the library?
Click the link below for more information.
Library Floor Plans
Jean & Alexander Heard Libraries Welcome Page
The Library Catalog
Vanderbilt University Library Catalog
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Library Catalog vs. VU Collections vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| VU Collections |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult
What am I searching?
Useful Library of Congress Subject Headings
Try a SUBJECT begins with search using one of the Library of Congress Subject Headings listed below:
| Art and Society Archaeology and the State Cultural Property Architecture, United States Cultural Heritage Historic Sites Architecture American Nationalism-History |
||
| Historic Preservation Architectural-Conservation and Restoration |
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust has created the Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS), which will allow Vanderbilt students, faculty, and staff online reading access to materials that Vanderbilt Libraries own in print during this period of remote teaching, learning, and research. Access is available until further notice.
**The print editions of books made available through HathiTrust ETAS will not be available for check out for the duration of our participation in the service.
Connect to books in HathiTrust directly from the Library Catalog:
Users need to click on the yellow Log in button and choose Vanderbilt University as their institution and then login with their VUnet ID and password to gain access.
Click the "Temporary access" link in the record to access the ebook and don't forget to click the "Check Out" button!
Some caveats:
- Not all print items available in our catalog are available in HathiTrust
- HathiTrust is providing reading access to Temporary Access titles
- The option to download the work in full is not available
- You will be able to “check out” materials for a limited time (60 minutes)
- There is an automatic renewal option available
- Access to items is 1-1; 1 copy on the member library shelf, 1 individual access to the digital copy; 2 copies, 2 concurrent users of the digital item.
- Print books made available in HathiTrust will not be allowed to circulate.
- Please contact the library for assistance.
