Librarian for Sociology, Environmental Sociology, MHS and Public Policy Studies
Sources
- Library Search This link opens in a new window
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Climate and Environmental Studies
- GreenFILE (EBSCO host) This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowJournals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearches scientific, social science and health literature.
- Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary resource for environmental and sustainability studies. Content includes reference works, case studies, multimedia materials, academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. Explore issues and events through topic, organization, and country portals.
- Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. Perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
- EENews.net This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. Titles include ClimateWire, Environment & Energy Daily, GreenWire, and Land Letter.
Social Science and Public Policy
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex of international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and citations to book reviews.
- Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new windowCurated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets produced by the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, research centers, IGOs, and NGOs.
- North American City Reports This link opens in a new windowSurveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the world’s major cities. Provides research with particular importance in areas of climate change, political instability, and rapid growth.
- ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowInternational literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts, indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.
Business/Corporations/Company/Industry
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
- Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowBroker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings to analyze company performance and activity, industry events, and business trends; the latest in management, economics and politics.
- USA.GOVSearches US and state government agenices.
- Proquest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
U.S. Congressional materials (hearings, bills, Congressional Record and compiled legislative histories) and Executive Branch documents.
- Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new window Use this link to seamlessly access VU resources via Google Scholar both on and off campus.You can also adjust your Google Scholar settings to display the Vanderbilt Findit@VU link to appear in search results and allow for access from on or off-campus. Access Google Scholar settings by visiting this page (https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings).Click library links on the left hand menu. in the search box, search for Vanderbilt and select: “Vanderbilt University Library – Findit@VU” (with uppercase F), Click Save.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
1. Use quotes around phrases
2. Use the "Quick Filters" if you want just books, articles, etc.
3. If you need peer reviewed sources, apply that filter
4. Use "Format" for other types of sources such as newspaper articles, book chapters, etc.
5. Use the date limiter
A complete list of limiters can be found on the left hand side of the screen below "Refine your results".
What is gray literature? Grey literature is information produced outside of traditional publishing and distribution channels, and can include reports, policy literature, working papers, newsletters, government documents, speeches, white papers, urban plans, and so on. Many of our databases have "format" or "source" filters for gray literature such as "reports". "To make a decision about whether or not to use gray literature, try the PICK or RADAR method to examine the source itself or the SIFT method to compare it to other sources.
- Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new windowCurated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets produced by the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, research centers, IGOs, and NGOs.
- North American City Reports This link opens in a new windowSurveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the world’s major cities. Provides research with particular importance in areas of climate change, political instability, and rapid growth.
- Google Think Tank Search EngineThink Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. Inclusion is based upon the relevancy of subject area to HKS coursework and scholarship, the availability of the think tank’s research in full-text on the website, and the think tank’s reputation and influence upon policy making. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
You can also use Google to find gray literature.
To find grey literature, try keywords such as report, "think tank," "white paper," policy, statistics, or limiting by domain to (.org, .edu, .gov)
|
Scholarly |
News |
Gray Literature
|
|
Scholarly articles publish original research on events related to a specific discipline written by professors, researchers, or professionals. These articles are written by an expert for other experts in the same field and generally go through a process called "peer review," in which they are vetted by other experts. Scholarly sources typically include references to other sources (bibliography) and are written with the assumption that the audience already has significant background knowledge in the topic. |
Gray literature is information produced outside of traditional publishing and distribution channels, and can include reports, policy literature, working papers, newsletters, government documents, speeches, white papers, urban plans, and so on. Many of our databases have "format" or "source" filters for gray literature such as "reports" |
