Librarian
Welcome to the World of Library Research!
Connect to Library Resources Wherever You Are!
- Access databases, journals and e-books online using your VUnet ID & password
- Work directly with a librarian!
- Email Ryan with a question
- Schedule a virtual or in-person meeting with Ryan for in-depth research help
- Need a quick and dirty answer? Connect to us via chat from any library webpage!
Women Poets
Knowing where to start isn't always easy, especially when you're dealing with an unfamiliar subject. Sometimes the best place to start is a subject specific dictionary or encyclopedia. Below is a selected list of online reference resources.
Available Online
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowProfiles of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights discussing their lives and careers and critical response to their works. Includes the Documentary Series, Main Series, and Yearbook.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available. - OED: Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe accepted authority on the English language. Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of English words traced through quotations.
