Sources Used in Class
-
How Nashville is Checking the Spread of Blight Through Public Housing, Redevelopment, Urban Renewal
Call Number: HD7304 .N4 A4 1959 SCIV-OVPublication Date: 1959Twenty-first annual report of the Nashville Housing Authority. -
Nashville, Davidson County, Tennessee: The Progressive City of the South: Climate, Water, Altitude, Agricultural, Mineral and Forest Surroundings Unequaled
by
Call Number: F444 .N2 C435 1903 SCIVPublication Date: 1903
-
Nashville, Its Advantages and Opportunities
by
Call Number: F444 .N2 N2984 1906 SCIVPublication Date: 1906Contains a list of the members of the Board of Trade, Oct.1, 1906.
-
The Real Dirt: A History of the Vanderbilt Garden Club for Campus Beautification
Call Number: LD5587.5 .R435 1998 VU PubsPublication Date: 1998Compiled and edited by Sharon Hogge and the members of the Vanderbilt Garden Club.
-
Rugby, Tennessee; being some account of the settlement founded on the Cumberland plateau by the Board of aid to land ownership, limited; a company incorporated in England, and authorised to hold and deal in land by act of the legislature of the state of T
by
Call Number: F444 .R9 H8 SCIVPublication Date: 1881Contributor: Board of Aid to Land Ownership.
With a report on the soils of the plateau, by the Hon. F. W. Killebrew. -
A Traffic Safety Survey of the City of Nashville, Tennessee
Call Number: HE372 .N2 N374 1934 SCIVPublication Date: 1934Sponsored and directed by the City Planning and Zoning Commission, conducted under the auspices of the Tennessee Emergency Relief Administrations ; report prepared under the direction of Chas. W. Hawkins.
-
We Shall Overcome: Press Photographs of Nashville during the Civil Rights Era
by
Call Number: F444.N29 W44 2018 VU PubsISBN: 9780826522214Publication Date: 2018-09-10This book expands on a Frist Art Museum exhibition to present a selection of approximately one hundred photographs that document an important period in Nashville's struggle for racial equality. The images were taken between 1957, the year that desegregation in public schools began, and 1968, when the National Guard was called in to surround the state capitol in the wake of the civil rights leader's assassination in Memphis. Of central significance are photographs of lunch counter sit-ins in early 1960, led by a group of students, including John Lewis (who contributed the book's foreword) and Diane Nash, from local historically black colleges and universities.
Campus Maps, Folder 1. Campus Maps Flat File, drawer 1. Vanderbilt University Archives, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee.
Eminent Domain - Colleges and Universities. Record Group 800, Vice Chancellor for Administration, Box 1962. Vanderbilt University Archives, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee.
Environmental Impact Statement. Record Group 800, Vice Chancellor for Administration, Box 1868. Vanderbilt University Archives, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee.
“Magnolia Shelter” article from The Tennessean. Vanderbilt Garden Club Records, MSS.0473 Box 5. Vanderbilt University Special Collections and University Archives, Nashville, Tennessee.
Margaret Branscomb - Recollections by members of the VGC; Tennessean article by Louise Davis, Oct. 4, 1987; Letter from Margaret Branscomb, May 13, 1987; Margaret Branscomb’s statement of appreciation of Mr. Jack Lynn. Vanderbilt Garden Club Records, MSS.0473 Box 3. Vanderbilt University Special Collections and University Archives, Nashville, Tennessee.
Minutes of Meetings. Vanderbilt Garden Club Records, MSS.0473 Box 2. Vanderbilt University Special Collections and University Archives, Nashville, Tennessee.
Urban Renewal. Record Group 300, Chancellor’s Office, Box 0236. Vanderbilt University Archives, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee.
Urban Renewal, Urban Observatory. Record Group 107, External Affairs, Box 0060. Vanderbilt University Archives, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee.
Urban Observatory. Record Group 301, Senior Vice Chancellor, Box 0397 File 7. Vanderbilt University Archives, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee.
Urban Renewal Area. Record Group 301, Senior Vice Chancellor, Box 0397 File 6. Vanderbilt University Archives, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee.
Urban Renewal Land Acquisition. Record Group 301, Senior Vice Chancellor, Box 0397 File 4. Vanderbilt University Archives, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee.
-
The African-American History of Nashville, Tennessee, 1780-1930
by
Call Number: F444 .N29 N45 1999 SCIVISBN: 155728556XPublication Date: 1999-07-01Since its founding, Nashville has been a center of black urban culture in the Upper South. Blacks--slave and free--made up 20 percent of Fort Nashborough's settlers in 1779. From these early years through the Civil War, a growing black community in Nashville, led by a small group of black elites, quietly built the foundations of a future society, developing schools, churches, and businesses. The Civil War brought new freedoms and challenges as the black population of Nashville increased and as black elites found themselves able--even obliged--to act more openly. To establish a more stable and prosperous African-American community, the elites found that they had to work within a system bound to the interests of whites. But the aims of this elite did not always coincide with those of the black community at large. By 1930, younger blacks, in particular, were moving towards protest and confrontation. As democratization and higher education spread, the lines distinguishing Nashville's black elite became blurred. -
Analysis of public expenditure in urban renewal: a case study of the East Nashville urban renewal project
by
Call Number: HB33.V3517 R489 VU ThesesPublication Date: 1972Economic thesis tracking public costs of an East Nashville urban renewal project.
-
Beginnings on Market Street: Nashville and her Jewry 1861-1901
by
Call Number: F444 .N2 F74 1976 SCIVPublication Date: 1976A Bicentennial Book from the Jewish Community of Nashville and Middle Tennessee.
-
A Master Plan for Better Living in the Nashville Urban Area: an address
by
Call Number: HT168 .N2 G454 1949 SCIVPublication Date: 1949Delivered at the annual membership dinner of the Nashville Chamber of Commerce, Nashville, Tennessee, January 14, 1949.
-
Nashville: An American Self Portrait
by
Call Number: F444 .N24 N374 2001 SCIV-OVISBN: 0970670214Publication Date: 2005-06-30Nashville: An American Self Portrait captures the essence of the city at a pivotal time in its history. Created by more than 100 Nashvillians and others with a connection to the city-writers, editors, photographers, and artists- Nashville brings into sharp focus the principal players and episodes of modern politics, religion, economics, and popular culture in this quaint and thriving pocket of the American heartland. -
Neighborhood Commercial Buildings: A Survey and Analysis of Metropolitan Nashville
by
Call Number: HT177 .N2 N44 1983 FARRPublication Date: 1983
-
The Plan of Nashville: Avenues to a Great City
by
Call Number: HT168 .N3 K74 2005 VU PubsISBN: 0826514588Publication Date: 2005-01-30The Plan of Nashville is a community-based vision of how the urban core of Nashville should look and work in the 21st century. The purpose is to help the central city hold its place in civic life. Since Nashville assumed a metropolitan form of government - merging city and county - there have been almost a hundred plans that dealt with some aspect of the center city. -
Shaping the Healthy Community: the Nashville Plan
by
Call Number: RA394.9 .G36 2016 VU PubsISBN: 9780826520944Publication Date: 2016-04-26Shaping the Healthy Community explores the relationships between the built environment and public health and presents an action plan for a healthier city. The book analyzes Nashville, Tennessee, using the "transect," an urban planning model central to the New Urbanist and smart growth movements. By considering the seven "transect zones"--natural, rural, suburban, urban, downtown, centers, and districts--the book provides a diagnosis of the health-promoting and health-defeating aspects of each. Strategies tailored to each zone focus on six built environment factors that impact health: neighborhood design and development, transportation, walkability and pedestrian safety, food resources, housing, and open space and parks. Individual chapters include case studies of specific neighborhoods, contributions by experts, infographics, site photographs, and detailed before-and-after visualizations. -
A Socialist Utopia in the New South: The Ruskin Colonies in Tennessee and Georgia, 1894-1901
by
Call Number: HX655 .S68 B78 1996 SCIVISBN: 0252022440Publication Date: 1996-09-01This first book length study of the Ruskin Colonies shows how several hundred utopian socialists gathered as a cooperative community in Tennessee and Georgia in the late nineteenth century. -
Thomas Hughes in Rugby, Tennessee
by
Call Number: Thesis 1947 no.3370 - GPC ThesesPublication Date: 1947
-
Visions of Utopia: Nashoba, Rugby, Ruskin, and the "new communities" in Tennessee's past
by
Call Number: HX655 .T2 E37 SCIVISBN: 0870492136Publication Date: 1977-10-29Visionaries of all ages and places have pursued Utopias, dreaming impossible dreams of starting over in new communities fashioned more closely to their ideals. In Visions of Utopia, John Egerton traces the fascinating history of the experimental communities founded by such groups in Tennessee. He focuses in particular on three extraordinary colonies of the 19th century, each of them widely known in its time: Nashoba, an interracial settlement near Memphis in 1825; Rugby, an English cooperative community on the Cumberland Plateau in 1880; and Ruskin, a socialist community in Dickson County in 1894.
-
-
The Sheep Look Up
by
Call Number: VU.00130 RARE BOOKSISBN: 0060105585Publication Date: 1972-01-01With the rise of a corporation-sponsored government, pollution in American big cities has reached extreme levels and most (if not all) people's health has been affected in some way.
-
IMPACT 1967Explore documents and videos from IMPACT 1967! Scroll to the bottom of the page to view digital video files of speeches by Dr. King and Stokely Carmichael.
-
Vanderbilt Alumnus/MagazineThe Vanderbilt Alumnus began in 1915 as a monthly magazine to keep alumni informed about current events at the university. It also featured historical articles about the university, faculty news, new programs and degrees being offered, and news about alumni. It was later renamed The Vanderbilt Magazine and continues to operate under that title.
-
Vanderbilt AustralVanderbilt's first student newspaper, the Vanderbilt Austral, debuted in 1879, almost nine years before The Hustler.
-
Vanderbilt HustlerView our existing archives of back issues of The Hustler from 1890-2000s.
-
Gone with the Ivy: A Biography of Vanderbilt University byCall Number: LD5588 .C66 1985ISBN: 087049452XPublication Date: 1985-06-01A comprehensive history of Vanderbilt University, from its beginnings in 1873 to 1982.
-
Peabody College: From a Frontier Academy to the Frontiers of Teaching and Learning
by
Call Number: LB2193 .N297 C66 2002ISBN: 0826514251Publication Date: 2002-11-01Today George Peabody College is a part of Vanderbilt University, as it has been since its merger in 1979. Its prior history was rich and complex. In this book, Paul Conkin tells the story of Peabody's many lives, of its successes and failures, and of its many colorful leaders and professors. -
The Vanderbilt Campus: A Pictorial History
by
Call Number: LD5588 .M33ISBN: 0826512100Publication Date: 1979-12-01A pictorial survey of the Vanderbilt campus from 1873 up to 1978. There are 25 brief essays on aspects of the campus, an alphabetical list and identification of persons for whom buildings are named, and a chronological list of buildings with their principal architects.
