This is the "Home" page of the "Special Collections Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide describes types of material available in Special Collections and provides tips for finding resources.
Last Updated: Jan 20, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/specialcollectionsresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Help

If you need assistance at any stage of your research, you may contact a librarian in Special Collections by calling the department at 615-322-2807 (2-2807 from a campus phone) or by

Special Collections is open to the public from 8:00am to 4:30pm, Monday through Friday.

 

Special Collections Resources

Special Collections and University Archives is the main repository for rare books and manuscripts on the Vanderbilt University campus.  We are also the home of the University Archives, the official repository for university records and artifacts. 

There are three main divisions within the department:

Special Collections

The mission of Special Collections and University Archives is to preserve, store and provide access to Vanderbilt University's impressive collection of rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and memorabilia.

Photographic Archives

The Vanderbilt University Photographic Archive contains approximately 300,000 photographs relating to the history and development of the university since its founding in 1875.

The George Peabody College Photograph Collection is also housed in the department. This collection includes over 20,000 photographs from the school's early beginnings as the University of Nashville to the school’s merger with Vanderbilt University in 1979.

University Archives

The University Archives preserves the historical memory of the university and makes this information available to the Vanderbilt community and the general public. It collects and preserves historical records and artifacts for Vanderbilt University and George Peabody College.

Public Services Archivist

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip