Reference Sources
- American Economic History: a Dictionary and Chronology.Role of economics in U.S. history since 1776. Includes figures, events, policies, and organizations.
The American Economy: a Historical Encyclopedia.Accounting scandals of the early 2000s and the 2008 recession, including the government stimulus and bailout programs, and effect of the recession on key markets.
- The Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History.Era overviews, event/ movement profiles, biographies, business and industry profiles, geographic profiles and more, on business & economic history of the U.S. with an emphasis on the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Government and the Economy: an Encyclopedia.Evolution of the U.S. government's role in the economy. Includes summaries of important Supreme Court cases that have impacted America's economic infrastructure.
- Wall Street: a History.Coverage from the early years (1790-1840) through The Great Recession (2008/2009).
- The Oxford Handbook of American Economic History.Key events, themes, and legacies of America's economic history from colonial America to present day. Topics include agriculture, banking & monetary policy, demography, health & disease, immigration, innovation & patents, the labor force, manufacturing, and urbanization. Includes discussions on the current situation of American economic history and future direction.
Economic Literature
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, book titles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. *Includes economic history of the U.S.
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowPrimary database for economics literature. Indexes journal articles, collective works (edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, working papers, and dissertations.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly journal articles in full-text. Use Advanced Search to narrow by discipline and/or publication title. *Does not include recent years for many journals; date coverage varies by title.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Serves as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
