Skip to main content

MGT 6499: Innovation Realization: Business News

Why?

Business news can be a way to learn more about a company, product or service.  An idea that you have may be already on the market or a specific company that you need to learn more about may be a target for your invention.  The following gives you models on how to do searches for articles about companies in different library databases.  You can also look for keywords about a product or service.  Remember when keyword searching to use synonyms as the database won't look for automotive if you just enter automobile.  So the best search is automotive OR automobile.

Business Source Complete: News Articles

In the database Business Source Complete, search for the name of the company then use the drop down menu to the right to select CO Company Entity.

  • Once you have your list of results, use the left hand menu options to narrow your results by: geography, date, subject, etc. .

You can enter terms in the second search box to narrow your results to a particular news focus.

Note: The use of the asterix * means find the ROOT of the word so grow* finds grow, grows, growth, growing, etc.  and using the right side pull down (Company, Title, Subject, etc.) allows you to filter your search.  Always start the first box with your BIG IDEa then add more to the 2nd and 3rd boxes to filter down the results. Iteratively chanign the right side from Title to Subject to Abstract will often vary your results.

Hoovers (formerly OneSource): News Articles

In the database Hoovers (formerly OneSource) :    

  • Enter the name of your company in the company search box and click on the looking glass.
  • On the results page, click on the link for the correct company choosing the PARENT company record whenever possible.  This is where the majority of the company information resides vs. on a branch or subsidiary record.
  • Once in the company profile, use the link on the left hand menu to access "news."  These are only topline current stories and not complete news coverage.

In addition, Hoovers contains company profiles, analyst reports, SWOTs, and market research reports under the NAICS code link found under the Industry section on the company's main page.

Business Insights: Essentials - News Articles

In the database Business Insights: Essentials

  • Enter your company name in the simple search box in the upper right of the page.
  • On the results page, click on the link for your company.
  • Once on the company results page, use the links in the tan boxes to the right to access recent news.

 

 

Factiva - News Articles

In the database Factiva

  • Adjust the default date in the drop down menu, as it defaults to "last 3 months."
  • Click on the blue arrow next to Company to open up that search box, then enter and click on your company name to add it to your search.
  • Use any other of the database options to limit your search results (language, industry, subject, region, etc.)
  • On the search result page, you can refine your search results by the left hand menu options.
  • If you want to change your search, use the MODIFY button at the top right of the page.