This is the "AADS Home" page of the "African-American & Disapora Studies Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Vanderbilt University Heard Library

African-American & Disapora Studies Resources   Tags: aads, african-americans, african_americans, africans, black, blacks, diaspora, diaspora_studies  

Last Updated: Mar 18, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/aadsresources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

AADS Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

General Library Tools

A Good Starting Place: Digital Dissertations

No matter what topic you are considering for your thesis, there is bound to be a dissertation out there that relates to your topic.

 

Welcome!

Welcome to the African-American & Disapora Studies library guide.  The Vanderbilt Libraries have a wealth of materials that will be beneficial to anyone doing research on the lived experiences of Blacks dispersed throughout the world.  

All of the resources found within this course guide are available in one of the libraries on campus or online.

This is not intended to be a comprehensive resource - rather a good starting point for interdisciplinary research and area studies. Please feel free to make suggestions for additions to the various categories.

Essential Databases for African-American & Disapora Studies Research

Note: These databases are available through a Vanderbilt Libraries' subscription. If you are not a current Vanderbilt student, faculty or staff member, consult with your local library for comparable database options.

  • International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP)
    IIBP includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.
  • America: History & Life
    America: History & Life is the key database for U.S. history & culture. Use this database to locate information about people of African descent residing in the U.S.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Over 700,000 records of journal articles and book titles about historical and related social science literature for all areas of the world except the United States and Canada. Use this database to locate information about people of African descent who live outside of North America.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Deborah Lilton
Contact Info
Central Library Rm. 800FH
(615) 343-4237
Send Email
 
Campus Libraries: Biomedical | Central | Divinity | Law | Management | Music | Peabody | Science & Engineering | Special Collections | TV News
Vanderbilt University | Phone Numbers/Addresses of Campus Libraries | Privacy Policy
Jean and Alexander Heard Library, 419 21st Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203-2427
Telephone 615-322-7100 | Fax 615-343-8279
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip