It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To locate treaties to which the U.S. is currently a party, or determine whether a known U.S. treaty is in force, search for treaties by topic in the most recent version Treaties in Force (TIF), published on the U.S. Department of State website.
Published annually, U.S. treaties and executive agreements are first published in TIAS. Treaty information is posted on this website no "later than 180 days after the date on which the treaty or agreement enters into force." Online coverage on the State Department website--1981 to present.
Treaty documents are available on Congress.gov for all treaties submitted to the Senate since the 94th Congress (1975-1976) (though a handful of earlier treaties are available). Treaty overviews include most recent action pertaining to the treaty in the Senate.
WorldLII, a free resource for foreign and international legal materials on the web, includes regional and foreign treaty collections from Asia, Australia, Canada, Europe, India, New Zealand, the Pacific Islands, the United States, the United Nations, and WIPO.
Includes a full-text, searchable version (with PDF images) of The Consolidated Treaty Series, a comprehensive collection of global treaties concluded from 1648 to 1919, amongst other historical treaty publications.
International Legal Materials (Unofficial Treaty Text)
This American Society of International Law (ASIL) publication covers significant developments in international law, including reports on cases from both international and domestic courts and arbitral bodies, treaties, resolutions and reports from intergovernmental organizations, and domestic legislation impacting international law and relations. In many cases, ILM includes a full-text version of the primary document along with any editorial summary.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.