This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

Leisure Reading & Viewing

Leisure Viewing collection of books on shelvesLeisure Reading

The Leisure Reading Collection in Central Library contains books and audio books that can be checked out primarily for entertainment, whether you are looking for something to take along on vacation or simply for a break from course readings.

The collection reflects a wide variety of reading interests, to meet the various tastes of Vanderbilt students, staff and faculty. 

Arrangement. The books are arranged in alphabetical order by the authors' last names. Streaming audio books are available via RBdigital platform. Sign in with your VU-NET ID and password and create an account to download streaming audio files to any listening device (laptop, phone or tablet) today!

Check Library Catalog. Although the collection is arranged for easy browsing, check Library Catalog to see if we have books by favorite authors. A book may be checked out or it may be in the regular circulating collection.

2-Week Checkout. Due to the high demand for these titles, the circulation period is limited to 2 weeks. Items may be renewed one time if no other patron recalled them.

 

Leisure Viewing is a selection of current releases and popular movies that are great for entertainment viewing. Please feel free to browse the collection (on the main floor of Central just behind the computer workstation area) and borrow any DVDs you see (up to five at a time).

Don't have a DVD player? No problem!

Check out a portable DVD player at the service desk. All laptops checked out there have DVD players, too!

 

Suggest a Title

You are welcome to offer suggestions for additions to the Leisure Reading collection using the Ask a Librarian form. Please mention that you're making a request for Leisure Reading, and provide the title of the book, the author's name, and any additional information you have that would help us identify the book. Though it is not possible to acquire every book suggested by patrons, we will give your suggestion priority consideration.