The Southeast Immigrant Freedom Initiative (SIFI) provides pro bono legal representation to immigrants detained in the southeastern United States. By ensuring that skilled attorneys are available, at no charge, to protect the due process rights of detained immigrants, SIFI endeavors to win every meritorious deportation defense case arising out of recent and anticipated immigration enforcement actions.
The project is led by the Southern Poverty Law Center. It will begin at the Stewart Detention Center in Lumpkin, Georgia, in collaboration with the American Immigration Lawyers Association, the American Immigration Council, the Innovation Law Lab and the American Immigration Representation Project. It will then be expanded to other immigrant detention centers throughout the Southeast.
Public Affairs Information Service: journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, etc. covering issues in the public debate.
Coverage: PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976. User Limit: Unlimited.
Information source on global crises and disasters. It is a specialized digital service of the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). Collects and delivers reports, maps, infographics, and videos. Also a resource for job listings and training programs.
Immigration law library. Access to several AILA publications, including Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook. Also includes up-to-date legislative and regulatory information and fillable immigration forms
Author(s): National Immigration Project of the National Lawyers Guild; updated by Phil Hornik
Immigration Law and Defense contains detailed discussion of the acquisition of nonimmigrant and immigrant status, grounds for inadmissibility and removal, administrative proceedings and appeals, federal court review, citizenship and naturalization, employer sanctions, and asylum.
Available through Westlaw. A print copy is also available in the Law School Clinic.
Author(s): Deborah E. Anker
Law of Asylum in the United States is an authoritative presentation of U.S. asylum law, long considered a must-have publication for practitioners, students, researchers, and teachers. It is frequently relied upon and cited by practitioners and decision makers. Law of Asylum describes and interprets U.S. statutes, regulations, and cases, as well as numerous international sources, providing an up-to-date analysis of all aspects of asylum law.
This edition has been thoroughly updated to capture recent developments in asylum law and policy, including the Trump Administration's policy changes, children's credibility, formulation of particular social groups, political opinion and other claims including in the context of violence and conflict in Central America, the material support bar to asylum eligibility, the one-year filing deadline, ongoing Safe Third Country Act litigation, and reinstatement of removal. The extensive Procedures Appendix has been expanded and thoroughly updated to provide an invaluable resource for practitioners and researchers interested in U.S. asylum processes. In addition, this edition includes numerous unpublished Board of Immigration Appeals and immigration judge decisions and asylum officer training materials in accessible perma.cc format to guide practitioners and researchers.
Law of Asylum also addresses fundamental issues such as: The meaning of "well-founded fear" and "persecution"; The five grounds for asylum (race, religion, nationality, social group membership, and political opinion); Withholding of removal protection and protection under the Convention Against Torture; Claims based on childhood status and gender-based persecution; When nonstate actors can be considered agents of persecution; Extensive coverage of gang membership/opposition to gangs; Elements of proof; Credibility determinations; BIA cases on social distinction and particularity
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.