Need research help? Ask me!
Keywords & Search Terms
Develop keywords and search terms ahead of searching the library catalog, databases, or web. This is to be strategic and to guide and find the best sources for your argument. After gathering background information from dictionaries, encyclopedias, and the web, you may have a better idea of what your search terms and keywords will be when using the library catalog and databases.
- What is my topic?
- What keywords/concepts standout from my research question or outline?
- What synonyms should I consider?
- What words may be missing and useful?
Background Information: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
You can begin your research by gathering background information on your topic from general resources such as dictionaries or encyclopedias. While these may not be sources you use in a bibliography, it is a great place to learn more on your topic before diving into the literature.
Access Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Using the Library Catalog and Database
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes: Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. These may be searched together or individually. Grove Music Online contains the following important music reference sources: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new windowEssays, sound recordings, and images focused on the various Classical and ethnic musical traditions across the globe.
Music around the world : a global encyclopedia by Call Number: E-Book, Online Access
Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the WorldCall Number: E-book, Online Access
Browse Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries in the Reference Section at the Wilson Music Library:
- ML101 - Encyclopedias and dictionaries by country or region
- ML120 - Bibliographies by country or region
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Call Number: REFERENCE: ML100 .G16 1998
