The Library Catalog:
The library catalog allows you to search for physical materials in the collections (like books, scores, and audiovisual recordings), but also provides access to journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, reviews, and more by simultaneously searching a wide variety of open access repositories and many (but not all) of the subscription databases provided by the Heard Libraries. When looking for physical materials (like scores), choose VU Collections as your search scope from the drop-down menu to the right of the search box.
- Library Search This link opens in a new window
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Reference Sources:
Reference sources are starting points for research on a topic. They include bibliographies, encyclopedias, and dictionaries. The materials listed below are useful for research related to the fiddle.
North American Fiddle Music by Call Number: Music Reference, ML128 .V4 B45 2011ISBN: 9780415994545Publication Date: 2011-04-25
Chris Goertzen, "Fiddling," Grove Music Online (21 January 2014), accessed 12 April 2019. - This article is from the online version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the standard reference source for music. It provides an overview of fiddling traditions in Europe and North America, dance forms, and tunes. A bibliography includes additional additional articles and books about fiddling. NOTE: You will need to access this link from one of the Wilson Music Library's computers or another campus location.
Books on Fiddling and Fiddlers:
Fiddlin' Charlie Bowman: An East Tennessee Old-Time Music Pioneer and His Family by Call Number: ML418 .B64 C69 2007ISBN: 9781572335660Publication Date: 2007-05-15
The Devil's Box: Masters of Southern Fiddling by Call Number: ML3551.7 .S68 W65 1997ISBN: 9780826513243Publication Date: 1997-04-30
Now That's a Good Tune: Masters of Traditional Missouri Fiddling by Call Number: ML3551.7 .M68 N69 2008ISBN: 0933842120Publication Date: 1989-06-01
A Florida Fiddler: The Life and Times of Richard Seaman by Call Number: ML418 .S43 H36 2007ISBN: 0817357610Publication Date: 2013-08-28
Music in the Air Somewhere: The Shifting Borders of West Virginia's Fiddle and Song Traditions by Call Number: ML3551.7 .W4 M37 2006ISBN: 1933202254Publication Date: 2006-03-01
Fiddling Way Out Yonder: The Life and Music of Melvin Wine by Call Number: ML418 .W56 B45 2002ISBN: 9781604732023Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Selected Fiddle Tune Books:
A Hundred Favorite Fiddle Tunes by Call Number: M41 .G938 1980ISBN: 0871669226Publication Date: 1980-01-01
John Hartford's Mammoth Collection of Fiddle Tunes by Call Number: M41 .H253 2018ISBN: 1732119007Publication Date: 2018-06-04
The Phillips Collection of Traditional American Fiddle Tunes by Call Number: M1629 .M48 1994 v.1-2ISBN: 9781562225827Publication Date: 1994-06-07
Old-Time Kentucky Fiddle Tunes by Call Number: M1629.7 .K4 O43 2001ISBN: 9780813122007Publication Date: 2001-10-05
The Bill Guest Anthology of Fiddle Tunes by Call Number: M1678 .G938 1985ISBN: 1562221434Publication Date: 1985-03-15
English, Welsh, Scottish and Irish Fiddle Tunes by Call Number: M1738 .E58 1976ISBN: 0825601657Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Mississippi Fiddle Tunes and Songs from The 1930s by Call Number: ML3551.7 .M6 B65 2015ISBN: 9781496804013Publication Date: 2015-11-09
