Research Guides: English Resources: English Dictionaries

Dictionaries

When Google doesn't have the definition you are looking for try the following resources

OED: Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The accepted authority on the English language. Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of English words traced through quotations.
Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus This link opens in a new window
Complete record of surviving Old English, except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.
Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new window
Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. Also gives access to a large collection of Middle English texts and other resources.
Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Russian bilingual dictionaries and study materials for language learning. Language usage and learning tools, and correspondence templates (for letters, emails, and CVs and résumés).

Encyclopedias

The width and breadth of encylopedias is astouding! From author encyclopedias to thematic ones, the sky is the limit. Check the Library Catalog to see for yourself. Try the search terms (encyclopedias and "topical keyword") such as symbolism, hip-hop, feminism, technology, or New York.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Literary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.

Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new window
Historical survey of critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Concentrates heavily on modern criticism and theoretical research.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available.